French Onion Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This recipe was WAY too oniony for my family. I'll try again using maybe 2 tbsp minced fresh onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This recipe was perfect exactly as listed (although i did cook the onions on medium for 30 minutes as they were not very cooked after just 10 minutes). Tasted just like in the restaurants. I used Campbells Beef broth which did say "condensed" at the top. And i did add about 2 teaspoons of "Better Than Bouillion - beef flavor" since i had it and thought it could not hurt. Doubt it made much difference. I used very fine red wine which i happened to have on hand. In summary, I do not think the reipe needs to doctoring whatsoever to taste just perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Oh yeah,....thats the stuff!!! All I can say. The only thing I did differently was chop the onions up instead of just slicing them. Now I guess that's all I can say. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobertBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lambert Lake, Maine, USA
Living In: Iron City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I just made this soup today at 10 pm and I finished exactly an hour later. This is my dad's favorite soup and this is the first time I made it and he said it was the best, and so did everyone else that had some. I adjusted it a bit adding more wine but thats it really. And I used asiago cheese instead of swiss. It was a really big hit with everyone. I must say though if you're going to eat this you shouldn't eat anything else for the entire day because it is REALLY fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
delicious!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Awesome soup!! I used to eat this soup a lot when I lived in Grand Forks, ND. I haven't eaten it in almost 15 years and the soup I made tasted just like I remember it. I have never made French Onion Soup before and I was a bit intimidated. This recipe is so easy and it tastes incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
The wine was reduced to a 1/4 cup. This was very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Yummy, especially with toasted Ezekiel bread & fresh mozzarella! The broth was fantastic. High quality beef broth (like "better than bullion") is crucial. I also added some thyme and garlic, as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was AWFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Bland, Bland, Bland. Yuck. This is the 1st recipe that I've made from allrecipes that was poor. I doubled the recipe and scaled the ingredients accordingly, and think I need to add a beef boullion cube to enhance it. It just has NO beef flavor at all! Boooo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States