French Onion Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is my favorite French Onion soup receipt and everyone i make it for just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Excellent recipe!! Delicious :-) Just as good (or even better than) as any french onion soup I have had in a good restaurant. I followed it exactly as written and it came out just great. Just remember to use the double strength beef broth. (I almost bought the "regular" strength in the store). Will definitely add this to my recipe collection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Doamekpor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I used to cook with the canned condensed soup from the store, but changed to making a big pot of this in the summer when sweet onions are the best, then freezing it in 2 cup portions -- so much better and healthier! I do use all beef broth ILO broth & water for a richer soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I found this recipe to be bland. It would be best to skip the water just to give it more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This recipe was WAY too oniony for my family. I'll try again using maybe 2 tbsp minced fresh onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This recipe was perfect exactly as listed (although i did cook the onions on medium for 30 minutes as they were not very cooked after just 10 minutes). Tasted just like in the restaurants. I used Campbells Beef broth which did say "condensed" at the top. And i did add about 2 teaspoons of "Better Than Bouillion - beef flavor" since i had it and thought it could not hurt. Doubt it made much difference. I used very fine red wine which i happened to have on hand. In summary, I do not think the reipe needs to doctoring whatsoever to taste just perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosanne Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Oh yeah,....thats the stuff!!! All I can say. The only thing I did differently was chop the onions up instead of just slicing them. Now I guess that's all I can say. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobertBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lambert Lake, Maine, USA
Living In: Iron City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I just made this soup today at 10 pm and I finished exactly an hour later. This is my dad's favorite soup and this is the first time I made it and he said it was the best, and so did everyone else that had some. I adjusted it a bit adding more wine but thats it really. And I used asiago cheese instead of swiss. It was a really big hit with everyone. I must say though if you're going to eat this you shouldn't eat anything else for the entire day because it is REALLY fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
delicious!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Awesome soup!! I used to eat this soup a lot when I lived in Grand Forks, ND. I haven't eaten it in almost 15 years and the soup I made tasted just like I remember it. I have never made French Onion Soup before and I was a bit intimidated. This recipe is so easy and it tastes incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States