French Onion Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This would be a good recipe if it had any flavor. If you lose the water (or at least cut it in half, it will work). I reduced it for a while and added more beef broth, and it was OK. Even then it still needs some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I've had some really high end ($$$$) onion soup, at well known restaurants, and I've gotta say, this was just as good. TIPS: - Take this recipe with a grain of salt; use it as a base. Taste and test throughout making it to add/subtract ingredients as YOU feel needed. - Use a mandeline to ensure the onions are cut very thin and consistent. - Let it sit. Let it sit and stand for at least a few hours, to really infuse the flavours. - Brown the onions! That's where all of the deep flavour comes from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
The BEST onion soup we have ever had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This recipe wasn't difficult to make, however, it was very, very bland. In the future I would replace the water with more broth to give it flavor, possibly adding in a few beef bullion cubes as well. I did add in the wine this time although I think in the future it will be optional for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Sawyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I loved this easy recipe. I couldn't believe it when I finished. My husband loved it more than the restaurant version. Yay me!! I'm so proud of myself! Thanks for the easy step-by-step instructions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This recipe is the best! I only add more onions and a bit more butter, because I really like lots of onions! The flavour is perfect! I cube my I toasted baguette and cover with whatever shredded cheese I have before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
this was great! I used water and beef base instead of broth, about 2Tbsp or to taste. I didnt use the sugar, as the wine gave it enough sweetness. Used croutons because I didnt have the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I loved this recipe an only changed it by using beef broth in stead of water and I used consomme soup(Campbells) to replace the beef broth.. was a deeply rich beef flavor to the base ..sooo yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States