French Onion Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Why are there only 5 stars? This recipe deserves 10! So much better than the canned soup version. Everyone declared it a hit, and hubby said it was the star of the meal. Made this exactly per the video instructions, and will do it again next year. I assembled it the day before, brought it up to room temp. while the turkey baked, then added the topping and popped it into the oven while the bird was resting. Gluten free Panko crumbs worked perfectly. Do use good quality Parmigiana-Reggiano cheese, it matters in this recipe. Kudos to Chef John for updating a very tired classic. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I was looking for a way to make the traditional 'green bean casserole' without having to resort to using the stuff from a can as I have to cook gluten-free. This version is way better and my taste buds were pleased! Yes--the cheese is pricey (I paid $4.99 for 4 oz) but it marries all the ingredients together perfectly -- savory and sweet. I didn't have access to fresh green beans and used 2 lbs of frozen -- I cooked them 2 minutes less than the package specified to avoid them getting mushy. I also don't keep milk in the house and substituted half-half. Of course, more calories and fat but the sauce was rich and creamy; I used rice flour to make the roux -- 4 tbsp. For the top, I used Kinnikinnick gluten free panko bread crumbs. This recipe is definitely a keeper in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe was the hit of the big dinner party which included a delicious rack of pork and cheesy, fantastic scalloped potatoes. It's rather a lot of work, but I followed the recipe EXCEPT for adding 1/2 lb of cooked, chopped bacon (divided) to both layers of the onions. I used the fresh haricot verts (fresh green beans) from Trader Joe's. Oh boy, this is a guaranteed hit - go for it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving. Loved Chef John's video tutorial. "2 Large yellow onions" was hard to judge for me. Here in TX we grow 'em BIG. I ended up using 2 pans to caramelize the plethora of onions. Still, I used them all in the dish, when one of those biggies would have sufficed. I used 1% milk and slightly less flour (my hand guesstimate was off). It didn't thicken quite as much as I thought it would. This could be due to my flour mismanagement or the 1% milk. It worked fine in the dish, it just didn't give that soupy-creamy texture that is found when making the recipe using soup from a can. Also, didn't have sherry vinegar so just used sherry on the onions. Mmmm. The Panko and Parm-Reggi was delightfully tasty. The Gruyere added a nice bite and depth. However, that cheese is really pricey. I may make it with a less expensive brand next time. The flavor of this dish was as wonderful as I thought it would be. What with all the chopping of my BIG onions and the green beans, the caramelizing and sauce cooking, and cheese shredding, this recipe is a bit time consuming and labor intensive. But the end result is elegant, tasty and gave me pride that I didn't do the soup version of this classic casserole. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Perfect. Loads of compliments too, at Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
An over the top green bean casserole! I added three slice of crumbled bacon for variation. Overall, a delicious recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Everyone loved this recipe. I agree with Kathy...the cheese is very pricey...but so worth it. Everything is fresh, nothing from a can. I just wish I took a picture to show how beautiful it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q'scooking
Living In: Avonmore, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
There's a video for this recipe! Tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I've made this successfully twice already during the holiday season & am about to make it for the third time. Truly awesome, and while I can't say the soup/canned FF onion recipe is all that bad (certainly cheaper sans Gruyere), but this rich recipe is an entirely different spin on the classic GB casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent as is. Such a welcome difference from the stand GB casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States