French Onion Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
WOW!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bgoughs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I tried this recipe exactly as written and it was,in a word, AWESOME!! It's my new holiday staple. I made it the night before, stored it in the fridge and just popped it in the oven with my other sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is much better than the traditional green bean casserole!The fresh carmalized onions,made a delicious difference! and the cream mixture , much better than the cream of mushroom soup. It is always a smashing hit! thank you! Follow the recipe you can not go wrong!:)BROVO LUV!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bridget Duncan
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving because I didn't want to used french fried onions. It took longer than I expected it to, but it was delicious! My whole family loved it, even the people who don't normally like green beans. I used cheddar cheese instead of Gruyere cheese because that is what we had on hand. I also didn't add any cayenne pepper or thyme(because we didn't have any on hand). The video really helped me to know how long to cook the onions, since I've never done it before. Overall I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget Duncan

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This dish was delicious!!! I was quite pleasantly surprised!! We don't drink regular milk in our home, so I used half&half and it tasted slightly rich, it was VERY tasty good! My man is vegetarian and it can be a challenge making new dishes for him. He is a very critical and picky eater; needless to say, he enjoyed the dish! This dish is a keeper....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Sooo good! Pretty involved to make but definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
the extra work to make this is worth the effort. The taste is amazing. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Benton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
A big hit. I used quartered onions which tasted fine, but was more difficult to caramelize evenly and spread evenly? The texture of the larger onion pieces was a good balance to the beans, though some bites had more onion than others (which was more interesting to me). I was liberal with cayenne, which we all liked: it showed up as the last layer of taste in my mouth. 4 minutes of blanching the beans resulted in the beans being slightly crunchy, which we liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brunosmom21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I hate green bean casserole made the traditional way, but Love this recipe. This is my husband's favorite dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
The wife and I were surprised by the savory flavor. I believe it has a lot to do with the caramelized yellow onions. Am going to try it next time with sweet onion (like Vidalia) and see what happens. Yes, it is a little labor intensive, but really worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States