French Onion Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Everyone raves about this casserole. I started using this recipe about 3 years ago; now this is my go to recipe for Thanksgiving and Christmas. My adult children specifically ask for "Mom's Green Bean Casserole" Thank you, Chef John! Gruyere Cheese and freshly grated Parmesan make this dish special. I use one part heavy cream and one part milk for a thicker sauce. A few more calories, but worth it. Sauteing sliced mushrooms for the sauce, makes it even better. I cook the green beans just a little longer than specified- Not crisp- But not over cooked. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
GREAT!!!!! FAMILY LOVES IT AND IS NOW TRADITION
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
it was ok. i followed the recipe and found it a little bland and i found that everything under the crispy top was soggy. not the beans. just everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This casserole was truly delicious! Well worth the time it takes to prepare. I added finely chopped mushrooms to mine(my husband hates them)and halved the recipe and we still have lots left over for tomorrow.I used lactose free milk because that was all I had on hand. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made it for my family today for Thanksgiving (Canadian) and everyone loved it, including my husband who informed me before that he didn't like green bean casseroles, and why was I trying something new when company is coming? He loved it!! Followed the recipe exactly (wow, that gruyere is expensive, but worth it) Love Chef John - Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
EXCELLENT! Thanks Chef John for a very delicious recipe. I made this as a side dish to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we couldn't get enough of it. I used Swiss cheese as that is what I had on hand. It is well worth the effort and I strongly recommend it to anyone who appreciates a good meal at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
There were a lot of little steps to this recipe, but overall, it was fairly easy to cook and assemble. I did substitute Butter Cheese when I made it because I have a few picky people in my family, but let me tell you, my family and I were completely blown away with how awesome this casserole was! It was beautiful to present at the Easter table, it smelled wonderful, and it tasted amazing! This is a must-try! It did make a ton of casserole, so I will probably half the recipe next time I have a small group, although the reheated casserole was just as amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Made for Christmas dinner party and was a hit! I added porcini mushrooms to bring out the mushroom flavor. Had to compete against the original Campbell's recipe with mushroom soup and healthy stir fried beams. This version came out as no 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I wanted to try a new and improved green bean casserole for Thanksgiving. No one in my family liked this recipe and I was sorry I spent the extra money on the ingredients. I ended up throwing it in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
WOW!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bgoughs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States