French Onion Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe is not worth the time or effort. It has some decent flavors, but nothing that really makes it worth it. It looks good, smells good and tastes mediocre. We love green bean casserole and were hoping this would be better then other versions. It's not and with all the amazing ingredients it's almost baffling. Like they wash each other out somehow. Just remember this review when your kicking yourself after laboring for nothing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmolies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent as is. Such a welcome difference from the stand GB casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I've made this successfully twice already during the holiday season & am about to make it for the third time. Truly awesome, and while I can't say the soup/canned FF onion recipe is all that bad (certainly cheaper sans Gruyere), but this rich recipe is an entirely different spin on the classic GB casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe was the hit of the big dinner party which included a delicious rack of pork and cheesy, fantastic scalloped potatoes. It's rather a lot of work, but I followed the recipe EXCEPT for adding 1/2 lb of cooked, chopped bacon (divided) to both layers of the onions. I used the fresh haricot verts (fresh green beans) from Trader Joe's. Oh boy, this is a guaranteed hit - go for it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
There's a video for this recipe! Tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Nobody except my husband liked this at the Thanksgiving table. I thought it was pretty good, just not worth the effort that I put into it. Hate to say it, but I'll probably go back to the canned soup version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I was looking for a way to make the traditional 'green bean casserole' without having to resort to using the stuff from a can as I have to cook gluten-free. This version is way better and my taste buds were pleased! Yes--the cheese is pricey (I paid $4.99 for 4 oz) but it marries all the ingredients together perfectly -- savory and sweet. I didn't have access to fresh green beans and used 2 lbs of frozen -- I cooked them 2 minutes less than the package specified to avoid them getting mushy. I also don't keep milk in the house and substituted half-half. Of course, more calories and fat but the sauce was rich and creamy; I used rice flour to make the roux -- 4 tbsp. For the top, I used Kinnikinnick gluten free panko bread crumbs. This recipe is definitely a keeper in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Everyone loved this recipe. I agree with Kathy...the cheese is very pricey...but so worth it. Everything is fresh, nothing from a can. I just wish I took a picture to show how beautiful it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q'scooking
Living In: Avonmore, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
An over the top green bean casserole! I added three slice of crumbled bacon for variation. Overall, a delicious recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States