French Onion Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I cut the recipe in half as my plants have only given my 1 lb of green beans so far. But otherwise I went by the book and this was delicious! Those caramelized onions are a revelation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Made this for Easter dinner and everybody liked it! Used most of the ingredients that I had. Never made green bean casserole before but thought I would try it and was very happy with it. Thanks! I'll make it again someday....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
this recipe was very good--fixed it for Easter and everyone liked it. there wasn't any left. I wanted something different than the old traditional. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Not as tasty as I thought it would be and certainly not worth the effort. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
If you are wanting a more decadent green bean casserole other than the regular boring soup kind, this is it! This is one of my favorites now! I pretty much went exactly by the recipe except I flavored the white sauce with a little onion and garlic powders and used canned green beans instead of fresh. I was making a big turkey dinner with this, so I prepared it all the day before. I assembled it all together except the topping and refrigerated it. Once I was ready to cook I pulled it out of the refrigerator and topped it with the topping and put in the oven. It was great! It turned out nice and creamy and full of flavor! With the caramelized onions in this, you won't miss those crunchy ones that are normally on top. But Im sure you could still add those and it would give it another depth of flavor if you love them like I do. The gruyere cheese is expensive and honestly if you go with a cheaper swiss or even a gouda cheese, it would taste just as good. So don't get scared away with an expensive cheese because it will still be great with something cheaper! Thanks Chef John for this delicious casserole! I will be definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Loved the taste of this! A little time consuming to make, but it was well worth it - it has now become my holiday side dish, wouldn't want to make it frequently, so I put it on the special menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe is not worth the time or effort. It has some decent flavors, but nothing that really makes it worth it. It looks good, smells good and tastes mediocre. We love green bean casserole and were hoping this would be better then other versions. It's not and with all the amazing ingredients it's almost baffling. Like they wash each other out somehow. Just remember this review when your kicking yourself after laboring for nothing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmolies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent as is. Such a welcome difference from the stand GB casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States