French Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I LOVE French Onion Dip. Especially with pretzels. Try it with pretzels instead of chips---a healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
i also grew up with this recipe. next time try this... when adding the onion soup, use a small strainer and sift the powder through and discard the flakes. another simple variation is to use half sour cream and half cream cheese. always be sure to sift out all those flakes for a superb dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I ended up making this recipe twice. The first time i added the milk, and it came out a little thinner than i would have liked. The second time i made it I cut the milk out completely, and i loved it. It was a huge hit at my Chirstmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My family makes this dip, either with the cream cheese or sour cream, we also sometimes mix the soup mix with cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Initially I thought this was WAYY too salty, but we added a second block of softened cream cheese and that made it AWESOME!!! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Very good. I would recommend that you make it the night before. That way all flavors blend and the onion soup has time to soften up real well. For a crowd I would double up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Excellent traditional recipe as is the one with the onion soup mix and sour cream. Now some leave in the onion flakes, like me, and some can't stand 'em and strain them out - its all a matter of what you and your family likes - I would say though, that if its the "crunchy" flakes that you dislike in what should be a smooth dip, make it ahead - and leave it in the fridge overnight. those Onion flakes are dehydrated onion which means they need liquid to soften up. If you like the onion and don't want crunchy make it the night before :) - you can also add a bit more cream cheese or milk to make it thicker and or thinner for your preference and add a few other herbs and use only half the package of onion soup mix - a really nice change up is to use vegetable soup mix! or a garden herb or dry italian seasoning packet or... well I could just go on and on --- this is GREAT Dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
i have made this for years...i dissolve the onion soup mix in 1/3 cup of hot water before adding to the cream cheese...it makes the dip so much smoother and easier to mix...skip the milk entirely...you don't need it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Add a little hot water to the soup mix to rehydrate the onions. Let it sit about 5 minutes. Then add to the sour cream or cream cheese. That's how Mom did it! Also, 1/2 an envelope makes a nice dip, not too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I make basically the same dip except I omit the 1/4 cup of milk and use 1/2 cup of heavy cream and a few grinds of cracked black pepper. The cream not only makes it richer and more decadent but it thins it out enough so that chips don't break as easily. When I want to use it for baked potatoes I add some diced bacon fried very crisp, grated sharp cheddar and some sliced green onion tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States