French Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I gave this recipe a shot, as the use of cream cheese was intriguing. But I can honestly say, we found this dip way to thick, and the onion soup mix flavor was too overpowering. This recipe needs something else, fresh herbs perhaps, to make it more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is so easy, and my mom made it for years, but I think it is better with sour cream and if you sift out all the thingys and add some chives. Another reviewer said they like it added to cottage cheese...there is a restaurant here in Denver that is semi-famou for their cottage cheese, and I am positive that they put onion soup mix in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I always add carton of sour cream to the mixture. This is great with bugles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Very good. I would recommend that you make it the night before. That way all flavors blend and the onion soup has time to soften up real well. For a crowd I would double up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My family makes this dip, either with the cream cheese or sour cream, we also sometimes mix the soup mix with cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I took the advice of one other other reviews and sieved out the bits and pieces of dry onion. I thought it was a bit plain, something was missing. I added chopped chives, and that was better, it gave an element of freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn-Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Initially I thought this was WAYY too salty, but we added a second block of softened cream cheese and that made it AWESOME!!! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I liked this dip, however it tasted a bit too salty for my liking. Still tasty, and super easy to make, though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I don't normally review recipes but this one was very easy to make and flavourful. I won't be purchasing any dips from now on...I will just make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I ended up making this recipe twice. The first time i added the milk, and it came out a little thinner than i would have liked. The second time i made it I cut the milk out completely, and i loved it. It was a huge hit at my Chirstmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States