French Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
As is, this recipe rates 3 stars from my family. With my additions, it gets 5. I add 1 TBS Worcestershire, I TBS garlic powder, a dash of red pepper and 1/2 tsp celery seed, omitting the milk. I get many raves about this dip made my way and constant requests for the recipe. People love it with pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I've made this for years. But I add Worcestershire sauce to taste and throw some chives in it. Gives it a lot more taste. And if you can use with Jays chips...It's the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is the recipe I grew up eating, with the exception of sour cream rather than cream cheese - a little more tartness than the cream cheese. Planning on a healthier twist to this version next time - using the recipe "Dry Onion Soup Mix" instead of buying a pre-made packet - I can control what the ingredients are and reduce the sodium and additives. Also using Greek yogurt rather than cream cheese or sour cream (although a reduced-fat cream cheese would also be a healthful alternative).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
My mom made this all the time when I was a kid - I grew up never knowing that "dip" was made with sour cream until I went away to college. I use 1/2 a package of soup mix, add it to the milk for about an hour before mixing it with the cream cheese. I add more soup mix if it's needed. Add a little ketchup to the mix if you want another different taste (just use less milk then).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Penfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
i have made this for years...i dissolve the onion soup mix in 1/3 cup of hot water before adding to the cream cheese...it makes the dip so much smoother and easier to mix...skip the milk entirely...you don't need it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Add a little hot water to the soup mix to rehydrate the onions. Let it sit about 5 minutes. Then add to the sour cream or cream cheese. That's how Mom did it! Also, 1/2 an envelope makes a nice dip, not too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Excellent traditional recipe as is the one with the onion soup mix and sour cream. Now some leave in the onion flakes, like me, and some can't stand 'em and strain them out - its all a matter of what you and your family likes - I would say though, that if its the "crunchy" flakes that you dislike in what should be a smooth dip, make it ahead - and leave it in the fridge overnight. those Onion flakes are dehydrated onion which means they need liquid to soften up. If you like the onion and don't want crunchy make it the night before :) - you can also add a bit more cream cheese or milk to make it thicker and or thinner for your preference and add a few other herbs and use only half the package of onion soup mix - a really nice change up is to use vegetable soup mix! or a garden herb or dry italian seasoning packet or... well I could just go on and on --- this is GREAT Dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I make basically the same dip except I omit the 1/4 cup of milk and use 1/2 cup of heavy cream and a few grinds of cracked black pepper. The cream not only makes it richer and more decadent but it thins it out enough so that chips don't break as easily. When I want to use it for baked potatoes I add some diced bacon fried very crisp, grated sharp cheddar and some sliced green onion tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Stir up the store bought kind, put in a bowl, and you can't taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I grew up with the sour cream variety. the cream cheese is pretty good but where I live in France, I use creme fraiche which is right there between the milk and camembert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States