French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This dip was very tasty. The onion flavor was rich and savory. I did add some green onions for color towards the end of the saute process along with a 1/2 tsp of fresh garlic. Very fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I made this exactly according to the recipe, and found the mayonnaise a bit too prominent. Next time, I would halve the mayo and maybe use a little more onion, even. It went over pretty well at my party, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftLass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
great recipe. We use more sour cream and less mayo... serve with roasted fingerling potatoes. yum.... a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This was really good. I used 2 large onions because 1.5 cups didn't seem like enough by the time they cooked down. It was good to serve at our family camping trip. I think it needed color and I wished I would have put some green onions in there or a little dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .5flipgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I followed this recipe EXACTLY. I was very disappointed. It tasted like mayonnaise, and nothing else. I made it for my husband, who said it was good, but I'm positive he was just being nice. I don't know. He hates mayo, and that's all I could taste in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This recipe was very easy and extremely flavorful. I followed it exactly, and got rave reviews at a picnic to which I brought it. It has a very natural onion flavor, with perfect seasoning balance, vey differant to that of the powder/sour cream taste I had been previously used to. I will not ever do that shortcut again, thanks to this recipe that is now in my permanent box! Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMACLARE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cobbs Creek, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I used cream cheese instead of mayo, was really good, this recipe is not for people who do not like onion very very very oniony. Also I added green onion for flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
We just didn't care for this, I'm not sure why. It's not the fault of the recipe, I guess it's just not our taste. Thanks for the chance to try something new though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Really Good! I also added fresh garlic - what a wonderful flavor. Will keep thisone and use it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hemingford, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I gave this 4* only because I modified the recipe a little. I added twice the amount of onion and some fresh chopped parsley for color. I thought chopped fresh thyme would be outstanding but I didn't have any at the time. I served this at a family BBQ and everyone said it was "highly addictive." I actually only got one chip w/ dip before the whole thing was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States