French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I thought that there was too much mayo. This recipe is a replica of a recipe from another website, but with altered portions of sour cream, garlic and mayo. I have tried again with the 1/2 tsp garlic powder from this recipe and mix of 1 1/2 cups sour cream, 3/4 cup of mayo from original recipe. Also added a splash of Worcestershire Sauce instead of the 1/2 tsp of Kosher Salt. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Very YUMMY! I made this in a rush, put the onions in the freezer to cool and served it asap, very delicious! I used more sour cream than mayo like another reviewer said and used lowfat mayo. No more boxed stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I made this for a party and everyone loved it. It takes a little effort to make but it is well worth it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I reduced the amount of mayo and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I used 2 1/2 cups of yogurt cheese instead of sour cream. You make it by using a large coffee filter to drain off the whey from plain yogurt. It takes 8-10 hours to make. However it is much better for you than sour cream and tastes the same. I also added 1/4 teaspoon of onion powder and 1 teaspoon dried chopped chives. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Easy to make and yummy. I had never though about making my own onion dip before...I usually buy the powdered mix. This is much better, and got lots of compliments at the cookout I took it to. My house smelled like onions for a few days though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Everyone at the party LOVED this dip! You have to really like onions to like it but then, why would you make an onion dip if you are not an onion fan? I use all sour cream, no mayo. I just don't like mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Delicious!!! This was so good. I did use 1 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup mayo as a personal preference. Added a clove of minced garlic at the end of the saute. There is just no reason to buy the store bought stuff--there's no comparison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Made this for a Super Bowl party and it got raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Good! I used leftover roasted onions from a different AR recipe. This makes about two cups of dip. Next time I'll reduce the recipe by half as it made too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States