French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
It rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this exactly as directed and it was awesome. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Everyone loves this dip. It is much better than the dry soup mix variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
FABULOUS. It was all gone in 1 night. Made exactly as directed and it was not too mayonaise flavored as some suggested. I had no problem browning the onion in 20 mins, probably because i did not use a non-stick pan. I think the non-stick pans don't brown as well as a good non-coated pan. i had no problem cleaing the pan afterwards either, because i kept stirring the onions and scraping the bottom of the pan with a wooden spatula. Definite make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I used 1.5 cups of sour cream and .5 cups of mayo, and 2 cups of onion-it was excellent! I almost ate the whole thing myself. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was so rich and creamy I used this at a baby shower and it was a big hit! Made it the night before flavor set's in nicely.Very first time ever making anything like this followed to a tee and will use this again Thanks!!Rochelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The reason why I gave this a 3 is because I wasn't sure that if I completely add no mayo or sour creme that it would change the taste of the dip. I'm going to try it this time with 1/2 cup of mayo and sour creme. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HaleyML
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I used 1 cup sour cream, 3/4 cup mayonnaise, teaspoon salt, teaspoon pepper, 1 1/2 large onions and about 3-4 sage leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HaleyML

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I thought that there was too much mayo. This recipe is a replica of a recipe from another website, but with altered portions of sour cream, garlic and mayo. I have tried again with the 1/2 tsp garlic powder from this recipe and mix of 1 1/2 cups sour cream, 3/4 cup of mayo from original recipe. Also added a splash of Worcestershire Sauce instead of the 1/2 tsp of Kosher Salt. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Very YUMMY! I made this in a rush, put the onions in the freezer to cool and served it asap, very delicious! I used more sour cream than mayo like another reviewer said and used lowfat mayo. No more boxed stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States