French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This dip is fantastic and so much more flavorful and natural tasting than the packaged kind. If you're having the guys over for football the mix is a-ok, but if you're having a holiday party this is the dip for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Will never buy French Onion dip again. I added some worcestershire sauce and parsley flakes. Next time I will follow what other people said about adding less Mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Excellent as is. I could eat this portion all by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This dip was AMMMMAZING! i tweaked the recipe a bit, i only did 1/4 cup of mayo.. im not a mayo person, but i did about a cup and a half of sour cream, i did 1/2 tsp salt total. and i added a bit more onion, when cooking the onion i let them cook for about 45 minutes till they were a nice golden brown then i let them drain and cool until they were nice and crispy, i chopped up some green onion and threw it in fresh and then some on top for garnish with some sun roasted sunflower seeds and it had a really nice presentation that matched the amazing flavor, it was a huge hit at our party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is great! I followed the advice of some other reviews and used cream cheese instead of mayo and it worked perfectly. I also added two beef bullion cubes to the onions while they sauteed, and left out the kosher salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
French Onion Dip From Scratch Haiku: "Holy awesome dip! Loved and devoured with zeal. I'll make it again!" I sauteed my onions (2 c. worth) for around 30 min., up'ed the sour cream to 1 1/2 c. and reduced the mayo to 1/2 c. Served w/ kettle chips, and this dip was a hit - I don't think I'll ever do the packet dip, or canned stuff again, having found this delicious onion dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Nice Stolen Recipe from Alton Brown. Of course like any Artist one uses others ideas to learn but at least build upon it or give credit. I'm annoyed by all of these posers that copy recipes or say there's ketchup in Authentic Mexican Tacos and things of that nature, just so they can feel important. Makes it take forever for those of us to get legitimate recipes posted. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny Blaze

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I halved this recipe just to try it. Used light sour cream and light "real" mayo. Tried it before our guests arrived on a bavarian pretzel piece. Good thing I did because it was extremely salty. I quickly added in more sour cream. Next time I make this, I will totally eliminate the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I used your recipe for basic ingredients. And mine turned out great! Even though I added a little too much salt by accident! Still, by adding in some mayonnaise, it really helped with the salty taste. NEXT TIME, I will go by your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Turner-Sprague

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
sooo yummy!! i accidentally added to much salt when i tried to half the recipe, whoops!! it did end up being to salty that way, lol, but it was still excellent. i can tell it's gonna be fabulous when i make it correctly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States