French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Five stars because it really does taste much better than the boxed onion soup mix version! I made this as the recipe states, except used one a half cups sour cream, and half cup mayo. In just 20 mins the onions were carmelized to perfection. What an easy recipe! Soooo tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by entityellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is a delicious recipe. To reduce the fat I used 1 cup low fat sour cream and substituted the mayo with half a cup of greek style yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
DO THESE THREE CHANGES, and it will be a hit with everyone! Half the mayo. Puree the onion. Add two tsp of minced garlic along with the garlic powder. Even people that don't like onion, will love the dip in this way! Also, less tears because no extensive chopping off the onion: blender/food processor all the way. I was looking for a knockoff of the one I buy from the store, and the way I made it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Soooooooo good! Will never use store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Wow so easy and everyone at my Christmas family party loved it. I'm not sure I would go back to a package onion dip again. Fantastic, Def. make the day before for the flavors to mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Oh, my gosh! This was stinkin' fantastic!! I felt so stupid trying to make chip dip from scratch instead of buying a cheap premade tub. DO it!!! Totally superior dip! YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was quite good. I let it sit for about 6 hours in the fridge before serving. I added a few dashes of Worcestershire after trying the recipe as written. Worcestershire definitely helped enhance the flavor and color. My husband says it doesn't beat Heluva Good Dip, but it does beat onion soup mix dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Just made this and its excellent! I used 16oz (2 cups) of sour cream instead of the mayo just because i dont like mayo. used 2 cups of onion, 1 cup yellow onion and 1 cup sweet onion. Caramelized the onions for about 1 1/2 hrs, added in 2 small cloves of garlic at the end of caramelization. After cooling tossed them in a blender and pureed it then mixed it in with the sour cream. added some garlic salt and pepper and even some granulated onion because i didnt think it was onion-y enough but after sitting it tasted great! i'll probably leave the granulated onion out next time cause it definitely gains flavor as it sits! VERY TASTY! Way better then the packeted kind!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I've made this recipe a number of times and it's a hit every time. I follow the recipe as written, using low fat sour cream and mayo. I think the caramelized onions are what make it taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I cooked my onions on a lower heat, and longer. After we let it sit, I found it just a little too mayo tasting so added some sour cream and a dash of worcestershire per another rater. It was very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States