French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This dip was fantastic! Everyone raved about how good it was and wanted the recipe. One thing that I did was cut the mayo down to 1/2 cup and added a 1/2 cup more of the sour cream. I also made it the night before just so everything could sit and blend well together. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Pretty good dip. Made for our Super Bowl party and everyone loved it with beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Pretty bland and salty when done as is. Saved it with added spices of Cayenne, cumin, extra white or black pepper, and some onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Overall this was great. I will for sure make this again but just with less onion maybe 25-50% less because the longer you let it sit the stronger the caramelized onion gain intensity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tcadogan
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I make this onion dip for every family gathering and it is always a huge hit. Everyone loves it! I tend experiment with the amount of garlic powder I use and I like to slightly over cook the onions. I also like to through in some celery salt. Basically you can't go wrong if you use this recipe as a starting point and experiment a bit with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcadogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medway, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious! No need to ever buy the dry mix again. The one thing I changed was adding less mayo. I used a total of 1/3 cup mayonnaise. This was just the right amount for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! I did reduce the mayo a bit and replaced it with extra sour cream. I think the trick is to let it sit for a long time to let the flavors marry. All of the onion haters in my family loved it! Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k9sarchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I turned it into a low carb/low cal dip. OMG! This is great! I'm mad I just found it and have been wasting money on store bought . I made it over to make it only 170 calories for the entire recipe! I did the following: subbed coconut oil for the olive, used 1 cup onions instead of 1 1/2 (even though I love onions, seemed to be too much to me), added minced garlic and 1 stalk of scallions to the onions at around minute 15, subbed 1 cup Fage 0% greek yogurt for the sour cream and 1/2 cup Smart Beat non fat mayo for the mayo. I started eating it warm, it was that good. Next time I MAY use full fat Fage because the texture is slightly dry but the taste is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I swear it seemed like every review I read said they will never buy store bought French Onion Dip again. Wow after making this " I will never buy store bought French Onion Dip again". True it takes much longer to caramlize onions and I added chives from the garden. This was a huge hit a a BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Loved this dip. So did my guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States