French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was amazing. I was extremely pleased with the way this turned out. I even ended up substituting 1/2 cup plain yogurt for some of the sour cream, as I had less than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Yum!! This was SOOO good & blows the store boughten stuff out of the water!!! I cut down on the mayo per other reviews(i used about half) and used fresh garlic. Also added a dash of worcestershire sauce. I will definately add this to my list of must haves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
i had a craving for onion dip at 9pm, but no soup mix to be found. I made this in about 10 minutes without mayo or garlic. Had TONs of flavor, tasted just like the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexia
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I thought this was really great. A bit salty maybe.. but it grows on you... I couldn't stop eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made this dip exactly as directed and it was amazing! A huge family favorite for sure! I love that it tastes similar to the 'onion soup mix' version, but much healthier being from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
It rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this exactly as directed and it was awesome. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Everyone loves this dip. It is much better than the dry soup mix variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
FABULOUS. It was all gone in 1 night. Made exactly as directed and it was not too mayonaise flavored as some suggested. I had no problem browning the onion in 20 mins, probably because i did not use a non-stick pan. I think the non-stick pans don't brown as well as a good non-coated pan. i had no problem cleaing the pan afterwards either, because i kept stirring the onions and scraping the bottom of the pan with a wooden spatula. Definite make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I used 1.5 cups of sour cream and .5 cups of mayo, and 2 cups of onion-it was excellent! I almost ate the whole thing myself. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States