French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is good. I don't measure but used almost a medium sized container of sour cream and just a big spoonful or two of mayo. Also I carmelize the onion in equal parts oil (any kind) and butter. Can't beat how easy this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I gave it four stars because it is never as big a hit as a cheesy onion & bacon dip I always make. (It's also from this site.) I love this dip, but my friends don't seem to love it as much as I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
SCRUMPTIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Tasted too much like mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great recipe. From prior recommendations, I used 1/2 cup mayo, instead of 1 cup mayo and 1/2 cup cream cheese. I mixed the mayo, sour cream, and cream cheese in the food processor to ensure a proper mix. Then added the onions and a little paprika for color and Viola! The perfect onion dip. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Made this exactly as written EXCEPT I used all sour cream, no mayo. Mixed this up & tasted it before ever putting it in the fridge to meld together... YUM! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, Virginia, USA
Living In: Basye, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I will never buy it again! This was amazing! The onion flavor is so much more than you hope it to be! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
fantastic recipe A***********
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Excellent! I quickly threw this dip together a few hours before a BBQ and it turned out great! I'm not usually a big fan of french onion dips, but this one is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris.c

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very easy and delicious! It did take a little longer than 20 minutes to caramelize the onions, but it was still TOTALLY worth it. I'm not sure if I can eat store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States