French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Too much mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Quick n easy! I keep forgetting to buy onion dip for football watching, so came looking for something simple. I made this even easier by just mixing a spoon of sour cream and a spoon of mayo with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. Could not have been easier and just as good as an over-processed store dip. I will try it with caramelized onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Excellent dip! I added some beef boullion paste to the onions while they were carmelizing (I didn't add any extra salt). I also added a small container of onion and chive cream cheese (I only used .25 cups of mayonnaise). You can easily adapt this recipie to your taste. It is delicious! Sooo much better than anything you would make from a powdered mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Good... base but really missing something. So I added some liquid concentrate beef broth... 2 of those little packets... got rid of the "mayonnaise" others complained of though I use cottage cheese which I do w/ my onion dip anyways... a lot lower in calories... of course the broth ups the sodium... but nothing close to the amount of sodium in the store powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I liked this dip but my husband wasn't a bit fan. It was good but it's just easier and tastier to buy the stuff from the grocey store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This dip is fantastic and so much more flavorful and natural tasting than the packaged kind. If you're having the guys over for football the mix is a-ok, but if you're having a holiday party this is the dip for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Will never buy French Onion dip again. I added some worcestershire sauce and parsley flakes. Next time I will follow what other people said about adding less Mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Excellent as is. I could eat this portion all by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This dip was AMMMMAZING! i tweaked the recipe a bit, i only did 1/4 cup of mayo.. im not a mayo person, but i did about a cup and a half of sour cream, i did 1/2 tsp salt total. and i added a bit more onion, when cooking the onion i let them cook for about 45 minutes till they were a nice golden brown then i let them drain and cool until they were nice and crispy, i chopped up some green onion and threw it in fresh and then some on top for garnish with some sun roasted sunflower seeds and it had a really nice presentation that matched the amazing flavor, it was a huge hit at our party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is great! I followed the advice of some other reviews and used cream cheese instead of mayo and it worked perfectly. I also added two beef bullion cubes to the onions while they sauteed, and left out the kosher salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States