French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
YUM! I've been wanting to make this for some time and am SOOOOOOO glad I finally did!!! Taking time to caramelize the onions REALLY makes a huge difference and is what sets this dip apart from store-bought ones. Admittedly, I did make a few changes that I think made this even better (I'm not sure I would have liked this as much had I not done so...). As others recommended, I decreased the mayo by half and upped the sour cream to 1 1/2 cups worth. I also added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce / pinch of sugar to my onions as they cooked (and I cooked them in bacon fat, not EVOO) and a couple of sliced green onions to my finished dip, mainly for color. My final change was to up the amount of onions to 2 cups total - but I would add even more next time. NOTE: It took about 25 minutes for my onions to caramelize, but I had to turn my burner to the lowest setting the final 10 minutes to prevent them from scorching. Overall, a VERY good, basic dip that the man in my life loves. Booyah! Thanks for sharing, CCUMMINS. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is the perfect way to make onion dip without a soup packet. It was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerald

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This dip was fantastic! Everyone raved about how good it was and wanted the recipe. One thing that I did was cut the mayo down to 1/2 cup and added a 1/2 cup more of the sour cream. I also made it the night before just so everything could sit and blend well together. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Pretty good dip. Made for our Super Bowl party and everyone loved it with beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Pretty bland and salty when done as is. Saved it with added spices of Cayenne, cumin, extra white or black pepper, and some onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Overall this was great. I will for sure make this again but just with less onion maybe 25-50% less because the longer you let it sit the stronger the caramelized onion gain intensity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tcadogan
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I make this onion dip for every family gathering and it is always a huge hit. Everyone loves it! I tend experiment with the amount of garlic powder I use and I like to slightly over cook the onions. I also like to through in some celery salt. Basically you can't go wrong if you use this recipe as a starting point and experiment a bit with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcadogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medway, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious! No need to ever buy the dry mix again. The one thing I changed was adding less mayo. I used a total of 1/3 cup mayonnaise. This was just the right amount for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! I did reduce the mayo a bit and replaced it with extra sour cream. I think the trick is to let it sit for a long time to let the flavors marry. All of the onion haters in my family loved it! Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k9sarchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I turned it into a low carb/low cal dip. OMG! This is great! I'm mad I just found it and have been wasting money on store bought . I made it over to make it only 170 calories for the entire recipe! I did the following: subbed coconut oil for the olive, used 1 cup onions instead of 1 1/2 (even though I love onions, seemed to be too much to me), added minced garlic and 1 stalk of scallions to the onions at around minute 15, subbed 1 cup Fage 0% greek yogurt for the sour cream and 1/2 cup Smart Beat non fat mayo for the mayo. I started eating it warm, it was that good. Next time I MAY use full fat Fage because the texture is slightly dry but the taste is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States