French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I swear it seemed like every review I read said they will never buy store bought French Onion Dip again. Wow after making this " I will never buy store bought French Onion Dip again". True it takes much longer to caramlize onions and I added chives from the garden. This was a huge hit a a BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Loved this dip. So did my guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
No Mayo! just sour cream. I did use Vadalia onions and thought they may be a bit sweet but great flavour. Also used black pepper and saute the fresh garlic in with the onions. I will try some cream cheese next time- great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Sooooooo awesome! Cut back a bit on the mayo and added a splash of Wooster! Will never use store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Great dip but it does take longer to carmalize the onions. I also used less Mayo and more sour cream and some yogart; this can be adjusted to your own taste. Also pleas someone tell me how create a new catagory under the "save receipes" Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this following the advice of several reviewers and used less mayo. Don't get me wrong, it was really good - but was it better than onion soup mix onion dip? Eh. The jury's out. I ate a bit and then added some cooked bacon to see if that would up the flavor a little and it didn't. I'm thinking that this might be a good dip to serve hot. I'll try it again, but I wasn't wowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Five stars because it really does taste much better than the boxed onion soup mix version! I made this as the recipe states, except used one a half cups sour cream, and half cup mayo. In just 20 mins the onions were carmelized to perfection. What an easy recipe! Soooo tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by entityellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is a delicious recipe. To reduce the fat I used 1 cup low fat sour cream and substituted the mayo with half a cup of greek style yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
DO THESE THREE CHANGES, and it will be a hit with everyone! Half the mayo. Puree the onion. Add two tsp of minced garlic along with the garlic powder. Even people that don't like onion, will love the dip in this way! Also, less tears because no extensive chopping off the onion: blender/food processor all the way. I was looking for a knockoff of the one I buy from the store, and the way I made it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Soooooooo good! Will never use store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States