French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
this was great. i also used some plain greek yogurt and half the mayo, and added some shredded cheddar cheese w/horseradish. i had quite a bit leftover because i doubled the recipe, but i just got done making stuffed mushrooms with the leftovers. i cooked some sausage, added some heat and a little sage. i love using up what i have! thanks for the post CCUMMINS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
So good! Add a touch of frank's hot sauce to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
SO good!! I add a little worcestershire and about 1/2 tsp of beef bouillon to the onions. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This is great. So much better than the kind made with soup mix. It's Alton Brown's recipe. I've been making it for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Nothing beats this!!! Have it sit over night for a full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Easy and tasty. Got a lot of compliments when I brought this to a party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
YUM! I've been wanting to make this for some time and am SOOOOOOO glad I finally did!!! Taking time to caramelize the onions REALLY makes a huge difference and is what sets this dip apart from store-bought ones. Admittedly, I did make a few changes that I think made this even better (I'm not sure I would have liked this as much had I not done so...). As others recommended, I decreased the mayo by half and upped the sour cream to 1 1/2 cups worth. I also added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce / pinch of sugar to my onions as they cooked (and I cooked them in bacon fat, not EVOO) and a couple of sliced green onions to my finished dip, mainly for color. My final change was to up the amount of onions to 2 cups total - but I would add even more next time. NOTE: It took about 25 minutes for my onions to caramelize, but I had to turn my burner to the lowest setting the final 10 minutes to prevent them from scorching. Overall, a VERY good, basic dip that the man in my life loves. Booyah! Thanks for sharing, CCUMMINS. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is the perfect way to make onion dip without a soup packet. It was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerald

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This dip was fantastic! Everyone raved about how good it was and wanted the recipe. One thing that I did was cut the mayo down to 1/2 cup and added a 1/2 cup more of the sour cream. I also made it the night before just so everything could sit and blend well together. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Pretty good dip. Made for our Super Bowl party and everyone loved it with beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States