French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This dip was very tasty. The onion flavor was rich and savory. I did add some green onions for color towards the end of the saute process along with a 1/2 tsp of fresh garlic. Very fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
great recipe. We use more sour cream and less mayo... serve with roasted fingerling potatoes. yum.... a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This was really good. I used 2 large onions because 1.5 cups didn't seem like enough by the time they cooked down. It was good to serve at our family camping trip. I think it needed color and I wished I would have put some green onions in there or a little dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .5flipgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This recipe was very easy and extremely flavorful. I followed it exactly, and got rave reviews at a picnic to which I brought it. It has a very natural onion flavor, with perfect seasoning balance, vey differant to that of the powder/sour cream taste I had been previously used to. I will not ever do that shortcut again, thanks to this recipe that is now in my permanent box! Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare West

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cobbs Creek, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Really Good! I also added fresh garlic - what a wonderful flavor. Will keep thisone and use it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hemingford, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Awesome recipe. Much better than store brands. I will never buy it store brands again after making this. Easy, delicious and I recently made this for a party and it was a favorite. My sister in law doesnt even like french onion dip but couldnt stop dipping. recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Mmmmmm! I used vidalia onions with the garlic and 1/2 block (softened) cream cheese and 1/2 C mayo with the 1C sour cream. The cream cheese gave it a great texture and rich flavor. So easy and so impressive. Everyone at 2 different functions raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I love this. My husband especially loved it! I changed up a few things, based on our tastes. First, I used chopped garlic with the onions. I added the chopped garlic when I had a minute or two left with cooking the onions. I used maybe a 1/2 T. I took the advice of others and used 1/2 c of sour cream and 1/2 a block of cream cheese, which made the dip really creamy. It turned out amazingly well. I agree with everyone else - this stuff is way better than what you can buy in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was so yummy and a huge hit at our BBQ. I served it with potato chips and cut up veggies. I made it with cream cheese instead of mayo based on other reviews, and it ended up being really thick and hard to dip into, but it was really creamy. I think next time I'll do have mayo and half cream cheese. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
this is the second time i've tried this recipe. both times the recipes were excellent. this time, however, i did tweek it a little. i added a few dashed of hot sauce, added 1/2 a slab of cream cheese(as others did), a bit more garlic, parsley and chives. we are going to a poker party/baseball playoff games (go cubs!!)at my brothers tonight and needed to bring something. this is be perfect. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States