French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Good. I added more onion, a minced clove of fresh garlic and used plain greek yogurt in place of mayo. I strongly suggest making this dip a night in advance. The flavors really came together overnight. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This dip is addicting and you need to be careful you aren't left alone with it. It's good on anything including just a spoon. The only things I did differently was to use fresh cracked black pepper instead of white because I prefer it and don't care if the black flecks show. I also substituted bacon fat for the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Perfect!! Soooo much better than store-bought french onion dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
AMAZING! I changed it up only a little bit. Instead of powdered garlic I sauteed minced garlic with the white onion. I added a sprinkle of garlic salt after chilled. YUM YUM YUM. I will never buy premade dip again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe is a good place to start but I agree with Crowchick it is wat too mayonnaisy. I would only add a 1/2 cup of mayo and 1 1/2 cups of sour cream. That's what I did and it tasted much better then the 1 cup of mayo version. But again a good base recipe. I changed nothing but the mayo and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ExMilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is good. I don't measure but used almost a medium sized container of sour cream and just a big spoonful or two of mayo. Also I carmelize the onion in equal parts oil (any kind) and butter. Can't beat how easy this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I gave it four stars because it is never as big a hit as a cheesy onion & bacon dip I always make. (It's also from this site.) I love this dip, but my friends don't seem to love it as much as I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
SCRUMPTIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Tasted too much like mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great recipe. From prior recommendations, I used 1/2 cup mayo, instead of 1 cup mayo and 1/2 cup cream cheese. I mixed the mayo, sour cream, and cream cheese in the food processor to ensure a proper mix. Then added the onions and a little paprika for color and Viola! The perfect onion dip. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States