French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I used your recipe for basic ingredients. And mine turned out great! Even though I added a little too much salt by accident! Still, by adding in some mayonnaise, it really helped with the salty taste. NEXT TIME, I will go by your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Turner-Sprague

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
sooo yummy!! i accidentally added to much salt when i tried to half the recipe, whoops!! it did end up being to salty that way, lol, but it was still excellent. i can tell it's gonna be fabulous when i make it correctly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I'm not a big dip fan but made this for a family gathering and it was a hit. I did cut the mayo to 1/2 cup and used 1/2 cup whipped cream cheese along with the 1 cup of sour cream. Carmelizing the onion took a little while, but I will probably make again when I need a good dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I took the suggestion from some of the other reviewers and 1 1/2 cups sour cream and 1/2 cup mayo. Other than that this was a stock recipe. I personally did not like the HEAVY olive oil taste that permeated the onions. It totally overpowered the other ingredients. I will try it one more time with canola oil and butter. UPDATE - Nah, I left this overnight to let the flavors marry, and no I will not make this again. I also downgraded my rating to 2 stars from 3. This is nasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Good. I added more onion, a minced clove of fresh garlic and used plain greek yogurt in place of mayo. I strongly suggest making this dip a night in advance. The flavors really came together overnight. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This dip is addicting and you need to be careful you aren't left alone with it. It's good on anything including just a spoon. The only things I did differently was to use fresh cracked black pepper instead of white because I prefer it and don't care if the black flecks show. I also substituted bacon fat for the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Perfect!! Soooo much better than store-bought french onion dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
AMAZING! I changed it up only a little bit. Instead of powdered garlic I sauteed minced garlic with the white onion. I added a sprinkle of garlic salt after chilled. YUM YUM YUM. I will never buy premade dip again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Frideres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe is a good place to start but I agree with Crowchick it is wat too mayonnaisy. I would only add a 1/2 cup of mayo and 1 1/2 cups of sour cream. That's what I did and it tasted much better then the 1 cup of mayo version. But again a good base recipe. I changed nothing but the mayo and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ExMilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is good. I don't measure but used almost a medium sized container of sour cream and just a big spoonful or two of mayo. Also I carmelize the onion in equal parts oil (any kind) and butter. Can't beat how easy this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States