French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
French Onion Dip From Scratch Haiku: "Holy awesome dip! Loved and devoured with zeal. I'll make it again!" I sauteed my onions (2 c. worth) for around 30 min., up'ed the sour cream to 1 1/2 c. and reduced the mayo to 1/2 c. Served w/ kettle chips, and this dip was a hit - I don't think I'll ever do the packet dip, or canned stuff again, having found this delicious onion dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Nice Stolen Recipe from Alton Brown. Of course like any Artist one uses others ideas to learn but at least build upon it or give credit. I'm annoyed by all of these posers that copy recipes or say there's ketchup in Authentic Mexican Tacos and things of that nature, just so they can feel important. Makes it take forever for those of us to get legitimate recipes posted. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny Blaze

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I halved this recipe just to try it. Used light sour cream and light "real" mayo. Tried it before our guests arrived on a bavarian pretzel piece. Good thing I did because it was extremely salty. I quickly added in more sour cream. Next time I make this, I will totally eliminate the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I used your recipe for basic ingredients. And mine turned out great! Even though I added a little too much salt by accident! Still, by adding in some mayonnaise, it really helped with the salty taste. NEXT TIME, I will go by your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Turner-Sprague

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
sooo yummy!! i accidentally added to much salt when i tried to half the recipe, whoops!! it did end up being to salty that way, lol, but it was still excellent. i can tell it's gonna be fabulous when i make it correctly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I'm not a big dip fan but made this for a family gathering and it was a hit. I did cut the mayo to 1/2 cup and used 1/2 cup whipped cream cheese along with the 1 cup of sour cream. Carmelizing the onion took a little while, but I will probably make again when I need a good dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I took the suggestion from some of the other reviewers and 1 1/2 cups sour cream and 1/2 cup mayo. Other than that this was a stock recipe. I personally did not like the HEAVY olive oil taste that permeated the onions. It totally overpowered the other ingredients. I will try it one more time with canola oil and butter. UPDATE - Nah, I left this overnight to let the flavors marry, and no I will not make this again. I also downgraded my rating to 2 stars from 3. This is nasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Good. I added more onion, a minced clove of fresh garlic and used plain greek yogurt in place of mayo. I strongly suggest making this dip a night in advance. The flavors really came together overnight. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This dip is addicting and you need to be careful you aren't left alone with it. It's good on anything including just a spoon. The only things I did differently was to use fresh cracked black pepper instead of white because I prefer it and don't care if the black flecks show. I also substituted bacon fat for the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Perfect!! Soooo much better than store-bought french onion dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States