French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Loved this dip. So did my guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
No Mayo! just sour cream. I did use Vadalia onions and thought they may be a bit sweet but great flavour. Also used black pepper and saute the fresh garlic in with the onions. I will try some cream cheese next time- great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Sooooooo awesome! Cut back a bit on the mayo and added a splash of Wooster! Will never use store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Great dip but it does take longer to carmalize the onions. I also used less Mayo and more sour cream and some yogart; this can be adjusted to your own taste. Also pleas someone tell me how create a new catagory under the "save receipes" Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this following the advice of several reviewers and used less mayo. Don't get me wrong, it was really good - but was it better than onion soup mix onion dip? Eh. The jury's out. I ate a bit and then added some cooked bacon to see if that would up the flavor a little and it didn't. I'm thinking that this might be a good dip to serve hot. I'll try it again, but I wasn't wowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Five stars because it really does taste much better than the boxed onion soup mix version! I made this as the recipe states, except used one a half cups sour cream, and half cup mayo. In just 20 mins the onions were carmelized to perfection. What an easy recipe! Soooo tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by entityellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is a delicious recipe. To reduce the fat I used 1 cup low fat sour cream and substituted the mayo with half a cup of greek style yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
DO THESE THREE CHANGES, and it will be a hit with everyone! Half the mayo. Puree the onion. Add two tsp of minced garlic along with the garlic powder. Even people that don't like onion, will love the dip in this way! Also, less tears because no extensive chopping off the onion: blender/food processor all the way. I was looking for a knockoff of the one I buy from the store, and the way I made it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Soooooooo good! Will never use store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Wow so easy and everyone at my Christmas family party loved it. I'm not sure I would go back to a package onion dip again. Fantastic, Def. make the day before for the flavors to mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States