French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Wow so easy and everyone at my Christmas family party loved it. I'm not sure I would go back to a package onion dip again. Fantastic, Def. make the day before for the flavors to mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Oh, my gosh! This was stinkin' fantastic!! I felt so stupid trying to make chip dip from scratch instead of buying a cheap premade tub. DO it!!! Totally superior dip! YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was quite good. I let it sit for about 6 hours in the fridge before serving. I added a few dashes of Worcestershire after trying the recipe as written. Worcestershire definitely helped enhance the flavor and color. My husband says it doesn't beat Heluva Good Dip, but it does beat onion soup mix dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Just made this and its excellent! I used 16oz (2 cups) of sour cream instead of the mayo just because i dont like mayo. used 2 cups of onion, 1 cup yellow onion and 1 cup sweet onion. Caramelized the onions for about 1 1/2 hrs, added in 2 small cloves of garlic at the end of caramelization. After cooling tossed them in a blender and pureed it then mixed it in with the sour cream. added some garlic salt and pepper and even some granulated onion because i didnt think it was onion-y enough but after sitting it tasted great! i'll probably leave the granulated onion out next time cause it definitely gains flavor as it sits! VERY TASTY! Way better then the packeted kind!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I've made this recipe a number of times and it's a hit every time. I follow the recipe as written, using low fat sour cream and mayo. I think the caramelized onions are what make it taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I cooked my onions on a lower heat, and longer. After we let it sit, I found it just a little too mayo tasting so added some sour cream and a dash of worcestershire per another rater. It was very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I love mayo, but this was a little too much like eating mayo on my carrots. However, it did satisfy my prego craving so I will try it again, but with less mayo. I think I'll do as other suggested and put in some cream cheese and green onion as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Too much mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Quick n easy! I keep forgetting to buy onion dip for football watching, so came looking for something simple. I made this even easier by just mixing a spoon of sour cream and a spoon of mayo with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. Could not have been easier and just as good as an over-processed store dip. I will try it with caramelized onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Excellent dip! I added some beef boullion paste to the onions while they were carmelizing (I didn't add any extra salt). I also added a small container of onion and chive cream cheese (I only used .25 cups of mayonnaise). You can easily adapt this recipie to your taste. It is delicious! Sooo much better than anything you would make from a powdered mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States