French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious! No need to ever buy the dry mix again. The one thing I changed was adding less mayo. I used a total of 1/3 cup mayonnaise. This was just the right amount for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! I did reduce the mayo a bit and replaced it with extra sour cream. I think the trick is to let it sit for a long time to let the flavors marry. All of the onion haters in my family loved it! Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k9sarchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I turned it into a low carb/low cal dip. OMG! This is great! I'm mad I just found it and have been wasting money on store bought . I made it over to make it only 170 calories for the entire recipe! I did the following: subbed coconut oil for the olive, used 1 cup onions instead of 1 1/2 (even though I love onions, seemed to be too much to me), added minced garlic and 1 stalk of scallions to the onions at around minute 15, subbed 1 cup Fage 0% greek yogurt for the sour cream and 1/2 cup Smart Beat non fat mayo for the mayo. I started eating it warm, it was that good. Next time I MAY use full fat Fage because the texture is slightly dry but the taste is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I swear it seemed like every review I read said they will never buy store bought French Onion Dip again. Wow after making this " I will never buy store bought French Onion Dip again". True it takes much longer to caramlize onions and I added chives from the garden. This was a huge hit a a BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Odell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Loved this dip. So did my guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
No Mayo! just sour cream. I did use Vadalia onions and thought they may be a bit sweet but great flavour. Also used black pepper and saute the fresh garlic in with the onions. I will try some cream cheese next time- great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Sooooooo awesome! Cut back a bit on the mayo and added a splash of Wooster! Will never use store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Great dip but it does take longer to carmalize the onions. I also used less Mayo and more sour cream and some yogart; this can be adjusted to your own taste. Also pleas someone tell me how create a new catagory under the "save receipes" Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this following the advice of several reviewers and used less mayo. Don't get me wrong, it was really good - but was it better than onion soup mix onion dip? Eh. The jury's out. I ate a bit and then added some cooked bacon to see if that would up the flavor a little and it didn't. I'm thinking that this might be a good dip to serve hot. I'll try it again, but I wasn't wowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Five stars because it really does taste much better than the boxed onion soup mix version! I made this as the recipe states, except used one a half cups sour cream, and half cup mayo. In just 20 mins the onions were carmelized to perfection. What an easy recipe! Soooo tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by entityellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States