French Onion Dip From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Made this for a Super Bowl party and it got raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Good! I used leftover roasted onions from a different AR recipe. This makes about two cups of dip. Next time I'll reduce the recipe by half as it made too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I've made this recipe 3 times so far and each time it's the first thing gone on the table! Here are a few things I do different. First it takes alot longer to caramelize the onions then it says, I did it low and slow for about 45 min. I used alot less mayo as I felt it overpowered a little (I used just 1/4 cup instead of half). I also upped the amount of onions to just about 2 cups and added a few dashes of worchestershire sauce. You really do have to let it sit overnight to really get the full effect but I'll never buy store dip again, its a little time consuming but VERY easy and the taste is out of this world
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very, very good. I upped the garlic powder and sprinkled chopped green onions on top. Let this sit overnight and let the flavors meld. I served this with Stacy's Naked Pita Chips and melba toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I used Spike, a seasoning salt rather than the kosher salt. It really takes a few hours for the flavors to develop! This is better with chips than with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Okay, it's been in the fridge 2 hours. I followed the directions except I used 2 cups of onion instead of 1 1/2. I think next time I will use LESS mayo (1/3 cup instead of 1/2 a cup) because the mayo taste is a little strong. It also needs more of an onion taste to it. Maybe onion powder would work, but probably chives would do very well. Oveall, however, it is a nice tasting dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
this is the second time i've tried this recipe. both times the recipes were excellent. this time, however, i did tweek it a little. i added a few dashed of hot sauce, added 1/2 a slab of cream cheese(as others did), a bit more garlic, parsley and chives. we are going to a poker party/baseball playoff games (go cubs!!)at my brothers tonight and needed to bring something. this is be perfect. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was so yummy and a huge hit at our BBQ. I served it with potato chips and cut up veggies. I made it with cream cheese instead of mayo based on other reviews, and it ended up being really thick and hard to dip into, but it was really creamy. I think next time I'll do have mayo and half cream cheese. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I love this. My husband especially loved it! I changed up a few things, based on our tastes. First, I used chopped garlic with the onions. I added the chopped garlic when I had a minute or two left with cooking the onions. I used maybe a 1/2 T. I took the advice of others and used 1/2 c of sour cream and 1/2 a block of cream cheese, which made the dip really creamy. It turned out amazingly well. I agree with everyone else - this stuff is way better than what you can buy in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Mmmmmm! I used vidalia onions with the garlic and 1/2 block (softened) cream cheese and 1/2 C mayo with the 1C sour cream. The cream cheese gave it a great texture and rich flavor. So easy and so impressive. Everyone at 2 different functions raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States