French Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My daughter is in a high school French class and signed up to make these for Culture Day. I was nervous because I have never made these before, BUT we followed the recipe exactly and they turned out amazing!!! We divided up the batter into thirds and colored them (pink, yellow, orange) and we used canned cream cheese frosting and colored 3 bowls the same as the macarons plus we flavored each bowl of frosting. I used parchment paper and they slid right off without any problems. I'm so thrilled these turned out so well, plus everyone loved them so much that I had to hide some for her to take the next day to school! Thank you for a simple, delicious recipe....will definitely be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
These are the best! Taste like the french original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The recipe is very good, but I am missing some ideas for the fillings :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This turned out great!!! I added a bit of hersheys cocoa powder in the macarons to add color (Im not allowed to use food coloring). Everyone in my family loved this, and I recommend putting it in the refrigerator before eating (was delicious right after I baked it, but the next morning it was even better and tasted more like macaroons then meringue). Definitely something to do again, and anyone can make this. :)))))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I never had macarons before, and since there is such a craze for them I gave this recipe a try. Had absolutely no problems and they came out so pretty! I will definitely make this again, and do even more colors next time. Grind the almonds enough and sift, sift, sift to get all the almond pieces that are too big, out. No shortcuts! Trust me, it will be worth it. I will post pics later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Mine havent turned out great but I'll try again! (they tste great but look terrible)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia Smallwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Amazing. I have searched the web top to bottom to find the simplest and most fool-proof recipe for these. I started with this one, and couldn't be more thrilled that I did. I followed recipe exactly as recommended. I used parchment paper, as they stuck to my silpat. A couple comments: I made two batches: Batch #1, I didn't beat the egg whites and castor sugar as long and baked exactly as recommended. They turned out vibrant in color, and not overcooked, a bit chewy and got rave reviews. Batch #2, I beat the egg white and castor sugar a bit longer (it was a bit more stiff) and then baked on convection. These were very crisp, not as vibrant in color, but still maintained a great flavor. The texture was extremely different. These also got good reviews, but cracked more and weren't as pretty as my first batch. They also weren't as easy to fill with the buttercream b/c they were more delicate. They did, however, fall right off the parchment paper with no issues! I made yellow lemon with a raspberry buttercream, green mint with a dark chocolate buttercream and purple almond/vanilla with rasp on some and chocolate on others. Went off beautifully for dinner party. MMMMMMMMmmmm…:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
It turned out very nicely from the first try. An awesome recipe! Love it! Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Just wanted to bake something and found this recipe. Didn't have parchment paper so I sprayed pans with Bakers Joy baking spray with flour. Cookies didn't stick at all! Will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
made them with the dark chocolate ganache, as recommended by another reviewer, wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States