French Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Mine havent turned out great but I'll try again! (they tste great but look terrible)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Amazing. I have searched the web top to bottom to find the simplest and most fool-proof recipe for these. I started with this one, and couldn't be more thrilled that I did. I followed recipe exactly as recommended. I used parchment paper, as they stuck to my silpat. A couple comments: I made two batches: Batch #1, I didn't beat the egg whites and castor sugar as long and baked exactly as recommended. They turned out vibrant in color, and not overcooked, a bit chewy and got rave reviews. Batch #2, I beat the egg white and castor sugar a bit longer (it was a bit more stiff) and then baked on convection. These were very crisp, not as vibrant in color, but still maintained a great flavor. The texture was extremely different. These also got good reviews, but cracked more and weren't as pretty as my first batch. They also weren't as easy to fill with the buttercream b/c they were more delicate. They did, however, fall right off the parchment paper with no issues! I made yellow lemon with a raspberry buttercream, green mint with a dark chocolate buttercream and purple almond/vanilla with rasp on some and chocolate on others. Went off beautifully for dinner party. MMMMMMMMmmmm…:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
It turned out very nicely from the first try. An awesome recipe! Love it! Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Just wanted to bake something and found this recipe. Didn't have parchment paper so I sprayed pans with Bakers Joy baking spray with flour. Cookies didn't stick at all! Will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
made them with the dark chocolate ganache, as recommended by another reviewer, wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
The heat is very important and it is the thin line between a good macaron and a disaster. By the way this is not a "macaroon" (no coconut cookie) but it is a "macaron". Trust a seller who sells rusty forks as stainless steel but never trust your oven temperature :) Buy a oven thermometer and check what you set the oven and how hot it is actually and adjust your oven until you get steady correct temperature from the thermometer. You'd be surprised that your lovely friend (oven) is lying 95% of times and your new best friend w,ll be that small "in oven thermometer".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
next time im going to use almond flour so i dont get little brown specks, but i love these! They had "feet" on the first try :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dagny Celine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I have been nervous about trying french macaroons, but this came out perfectly! The second time I made them I made a few changes to make things a little easier. First, I put my almond flour in the food processor and pulsed it a few times. I had a really hard time getting the AF through my sieve the first time around. Seemed to make it easier. Second, use a silpat if you are able instead of parchment. It makes a huge difference with them sticking. I had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Temperature is too high. Drop to 300 F. for about 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
this was by far the best macaroon recipe i have ever tried!!!! the other recipes i have tried always crack! but not with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States