French Leek and Ham Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Delish! I made the potatoes much less creamy (used a little butter and some 1% milk instead of cream) and kept the skins on because I'm a freak who loves fiber, but I can see how this would be good with just the flesh of the 'taters. Too, I found the serving size a bit off; I halved the recipe and still got way more than what I would consider 6 servings. (Still working through the leftovers, to be honest!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stella
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
We all loved this recipe. I had a little less than the required amount of leeks so I added some asparagus I had in the fridge. I also took the advise of a few reviewers and made extra potatoes. I crumbled some rice cereal on top making a nice crispy layer. At the end I had enough to make two caseroles. I plan to freeze one; we'll see how it turns out when it is time to re-heat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Fabulous recipe! Be sure to make enough mashed potatoes and REALLY be sure to leave enough for the top. The only change I made was to add garlic and white wine to the sauteeing leeks and onion. Also, next time I won't make my potatoes with heavy cream. That's a lot of extra calories just for mashed potatoes that will be covered in other yummy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
most delicious use of leftver ham I've ever had! Would maybe use more potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was very very good!. I did add some fresh thyme to the leek mixture and I'll add to the reviewer who says that this makes a lot of food. But that's good!, my husband was delighted that thre were leftovers the next day and said that cold was even better. I think this would be very good with the leek mixture mixed with cheddar cheese sauce, too. Mmm, a wonderful winter sunday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My family was pleasantly surprised how much they liked it. I was looking on how to use up my pork roast and subbed it in for the ham. I did not have any leek on hand. The rest of the recipe I followed and it was a perfect quick hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This meal was incredible!! I would highly recommend it- in fact, make double for leftovers...you're going to want them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was so good we reserved enough ham from Christmas to make it twice. Reheated, it held it's own and was a real time-saver in a period where busy is the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Truly delicious twist on the traditional shepherd's pie - I preferred this version for sure. The leeks and ham ratchet up the flavor from "family meal" to "mmmmm......"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I made this recipe. I used 1 1/2 pound of a ground veal/pork/beef meat blend and 1/2 ground sweet sausage instead of the ham. It was terrific! everyone who tried it loved it. My 88 year old father-in-law loved it along with my 2 brother-in-laws and my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikesz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States