French Leek and Ham Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was very very good!. I did add some fresh thyme to the leek mixture and I'll add to the reviewer who says that this makes a lot of food. But that's good!, my husband was delighted that thre were leftovers the next day and said that cold was even better. I think this would be very good with the leek mixture mixed with cheddar cheese sauce, too. Mmm, a wonderful winter sunday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
It is somewhat lacking in flavor, but definitely a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I needed something for a pot luck and this turned out to be perfect! Big oops, though -- I realised at the last minute that I was out of potatoes, so I used whole wheat macaroni as the base and turned it into a "gourmet" mac-n-cheese. But it is the combination of flavours that really makes it -- the leeks, ham, nutmeg and pepper are delicious together. I'm sure it will be even better with the creamy mashed potato base, but even the way I made it, it was gobbled up instantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Fabulous recipe! Be sure to make enough mashed potatoes and REALLY be sure to leave enough for the top. The only change I made was to add garlic and white wine to the sauteeing leeks and onion. Also, next time I won't make my potatoes with heavy cream. That's a lot of extra calories just for mashed potatoes that will be covered in other yummy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Delish! I made the potatoes much less creamy (used a little butter and some 1% milk instead of cream) and kept the skins on because I'm a freak who loves fiber, but I can see how this would be good with just the flesh of the 'taters. Too, I found the serving size a bit off; I halved the recipe and still got way more than what I would consider 6 servings. (Still working through the leftovers, to be honest!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe as is and we both decided that we would make it again. The top puffed up a little and was the best part! I also loved the nutmeg in the mashed potatoes and will add it everytime I make them now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Pretty good. Listen to the reviewers when they say make extra mash. If I try this again, I may just put the mash on the top and double the filling. I felt I was eating a plate full of mash potatoes instead of shepards pie. Flavor was great and it was my first time cooking with leeks. So if you're a leek virgin like me, then try this as a jumping off point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Truly delicious twist on the traditional shepherd's pie - I preferred this version for sure. The leeks and ham ratchet up the flavor from "family meal" to "mmmmm......"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
It's a hearty dish, but VERY bland -- despite adding garlic and sauteeing the leeks & onions in white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
most delicious use of leftver ham I've ever had! Would maybe use more potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States