French Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Wow, easy and delicious! Everything was perfect: flavor was perfectly balanced, great texture, cooking time was exactly right. I love the subtle, cheesy flavor with the onion aroma of the leeks. It looked beautiful as well, great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Woolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I found this recipe after a trip to Alsace, where they serve their famous "tartes flambées". This is very close in taste if you sautée the vegetables in bacon instead of butter. I used 3 slices of chopped bacon and the result was heavenly. I think it would be a bit lacking in taste without the bacon... A bit of ham might work too but then butter would be required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
We loved this! I was so worried about it coming out right (I've never made a cheese pie before) with no egg...? I followed the directions exactly and it came out beautifully! Will be making it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Phenomenal. This was one of the best recipes I have ever gotten from this site and if you saw my recipe box, that is saying something. I mde two pies, one as is and it was just fabulous. (Well, not quite as is. I used Jarlsberg instead of Gruyere because it was about 1/3 the price). I made two because I don't want to be THAT person who says how I changed everything, but I did make a different version that I also liked a lot. I fried a few pieces of bacon, removed them and softened the leeks in the bacon drippings, then crumbled the bacon back in with the cheese and cream. I did a layer of this mixture, then a layer of ripe sliced tomato, then covered it with the remainder of the cheese and cream mixture. Baked the same way. Also extremely delicious. So, this recipe is GREAT as is, but can also be modified if desired! Which makes it a 5-star recipe to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSFABIAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is such a great recipe. The pie has a delicate flavor that is really well balanced. As an added plus, to my husband and me, it tasted like the holidays. I've made it a few times and it's flawless every time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Fantastic. We really enjoyed this. I made just as stated and I don't think you could make it better by making changes. Cooking time was spot on too. Will definitely make again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
amazing. Easy. Add bacon for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-LITE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
extremely simple, subtle flavour is really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Lovely and so simple Might make again to take out on picnic if the weather holds up! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was super quick and easy; and sooooo delicious! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wharton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States