French Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I thought this was very tasty! Next time I'm going to double the ingredients, though - I found it to be very thin and only filled about half of the 9-inch pie dish. I added three slices of crumbled thick bacon - didn't add any extra salt because the bacon is so salty...and I used swiss cheese rather than gruyere...will definitely make this again - lovely for a brunch or spring lunch....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nico's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Excellent recipe! I'm a big fan of quiche, so I was very dubious that this recipe could work with no eggs. But I gave it a try and was impressed! I used Swiss cheese, since that's what I had on hand. It reheats well - my coworkers were jealous as it wafted through the office! Yum-yum, will definitely be a keeper!! Thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 2ys4you
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Simply divine! Added 4 sliced mushrooms to the leeks when cooking. It was a little runny and I might put some flour in next time. And maybe some bacon. I should have thought of that. I even had some on hand!! UPDATE: I should have re-read these reviews before making this again! lol I had bacon on hand AGAIN and didn't add it in! But it really is SUPER FABULOUS. I have another crust and more leeks, so I'll probably make another next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
CHEESE Heavy. Doesn't hold its shape well, would consider adding flour. Add the bacon w/ leeks. Gives it more taste. Extra leek would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Nguyen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I've been wanting to make this for a while and finally did it although I didn't have Gruyere on hand. So I used a combination of shredded mozzarella and Italian Rigatello cheese (slightly salty and sharp). Turned out so delicious, rich and tasty. My husband and I had to force ourselves not to eat it all in one sitting. (I still want to give it a shot with Gruyere.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I added artichoke hearts and chopped garlic, which really brought out the flavor of the leeks and cheese! This was excellent, except it came out a bit liquid. There was a milky soup at the bottom of the pie, which made the crust a bit soggy and the pie was all soupy when we cut into it. Next time I'll also add a tablespoon of flour. Great recipe though, I will make it again, especially with the artichoke hearts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I would give this 3.5 stars. I used Emmental cheese instead of Gruyere and milk instead of cream. I love leeks and I love cheese, but I thought that the two flavors were only okay with each other. Overall the pie was on the bland side, and I was at a loss as to what spices would work with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a FABULOUS dish. So quick and easy to make and it's taste is worthy of your best company. My husband loved it and he never ate leeks before. I took it to a neighbor's house and she immediately asked me for the recipe. I also modified the recipe slightly by starting with two tablespoons of butter and adding four slices of bacon to the pan. When the butter melted I added the leeks and turned up the heat to med-hi to finish the saute. I then took the bacon slices out, chopped them and threw them back in. I covered the edges of the crust with foil after 15 mins. of back time. After 30 mins baking time I broiled the pie just to give it that nice browned look (about 2 mins). This is one of the best recipes I've used on this site. It is excellent with a salad and red wine for lunch or accompanied by a red beefy meat for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
yum and double-yum :) i used the "easy pie crust" recipe from this site (a shortbread oil-crust) and used a mix of nutty asiago and young (semi-soft) monterey jack for my cheese, so the recipe is flexible. and -this is probably sacrilege- but i used land-o-lake's fat free half-n-half for my dairy, as i had it on hand and it's such a rich recipe. i was worried about the "fake cream" not thickening, so i added 2 tsps of flour to the filling - it still came out delicious. awesome with a light salad and a glass of non-oakey white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crissy
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Such an easy recipe that anyone can do it! I suggest slicing the leeks very thinly, otherwise their flavor is overpowering. My oven required a longer cooking time (35 min.). Be sure that the entire surface of the pie is well-browned before removing it from the oven. I actually used this recipe for a large crowd because it was so fast to prepare. I had a Ratatouille Movie theme for my child's party, so it fit in perfectly with the French cuisine idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States