French Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very good &easy to make - followed instructions exactly first time came out really great adjusted cooking time as we prefer crust quite crisp and added mushrooms the next time still a hit Thanks very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DALIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Terrific taste, but need more cooking time and at least 30-40 minutes cooling time, perhaps longer, to set up. It's super rich, I would suggest serving with a light salad or fruit. Thanks for a very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I used the Easy Pie Crust recipe found on this site. I subsituted whole milk for the cream and added sliced crimini mushrooms because it sounded irresistible. My husband, who absolutely hates mushrooms, bravely tried a bite and ended up having seconds. It was so good all I could do was moan as I plowed through half the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
As a leek lover, this recipe is perfection on the taste buds - you don't have to change a thing! Thank you for posting! (I made this with the "Butter Flaky Pie Crust" posted by Dana).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is a delightfully simple dish with a delicate, classy flavor. For "light cream" I used half heavy cream, half 2% milk and whisked in ~2 tbsp flour based on previous suggestions. The texture is perfect and flavor divine. The only thing i'll change next time use of a homemade pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Quick note to a number of the reviewers of this recipe - gruyere IS Swiss cheese. What you are all referring to as Swiss cheese is actually called Emmenthal or Emmenthaler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Divine! I followed the recipe exactly (gruyere) and it turned out just lovely. This is simple to make, looks beautiful and holds its shape nicely when cut. An absolutely perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This had a great flavor, taste to it. We didn't know what 'light' cream was (didn't see it labeled in our store) and had to buy heavy cream. Make sure it's light, with the heavy cream, it didn't bind and was runny. Giving it a 5 because it was my mistake, but very good dish. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minneapolis Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I was unexpectedly hosting a vegetarian friend for dinner and I feel bad because she always gets the short end of the stick when dining with her carnivore friends, so I was planning to make sure she had plenty of choices. Then circumstances occurred where instead of a week to plan and shop, I had just a few hours, so I hit allrecipes in a panic. I chose this because it only required a few ingredients, was easy to throw together, and had good reviews. I was a little skeptical---"custard" and there were no eggs. I thought maybe an ingredient had gotten left out, until someone mentioned in a review there were really no eggs. Anyway, I whipped this bad boy up and boy, did it go over big. It was so easy---and I was running crazy trying to shop and clean and cook with only a few hours notice. And my guests went nuts for it---we had to force the meat-eaters back so Veggie Girl could have a second helping. I feel confident if I had made two tarts, eight people could easily have demolished them. I can't wait to make again! The only changes I made were I used swiss---that's what I had on hand!---and after reading the reviews, I did add about 1 1/2 T of Wondra flour, and my pie was nice and firm and tight and not a bit runny. Lovely, lovely, lovely! Thanks, Sunny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I LOVED this recipe! It was really quite easy. As another reviewer said, I used the simple pie crust recipe that can be found on this site. I also used swiss instead of Gruyere cheese and it was fabulous. Will be taking this to a girlfriend's gathering coming up soon and I know it will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States