French Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
So amazing! This is such a great recipe, and the best thing about it is how versatile it is. As you can see from so many of the comments, it's easy to cater to your tastes and what you have in the fridge. I liked the suggestion of sauting the leek in baccon, and I added mushrooms and spinach because I had some hanging around the house. The flavor is warm and filling and a perfect comfort meal. A definite repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I used half and half to make it a little less fatty. The custard didn't set quite as well probably due to that, but it was still a great dish... Kiinda felt like it was missing something. I think next time I will make it with some dark meat turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavor7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Fried 3 strips of bacon, set aside. Cooked leeks in bacon fat/butter and added crumbled bacon to cheese mixture. Added minced garlic to leeks a few minutes before finished sauteing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinmoo526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe as written and it turned out attractively and very flavorfully (despite my inexperience in the kitchen). This recipe is relatively simple and inexpensive but came across as a special gourmet main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
My custard didn't set at all. So I had a liquidy mess. I followed the recipe 100% but it just didn't work out. I may give it another try since it seems like everybody else's pie was great, but not for a long time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This is a delicious meal - great for cold nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Excellent! Best recipe I've found on here! I have made this several times and have made a few modifications since the original didn't set up enough for my liking. I used 5 leeks and increased the butter to 3Tbsp, substituted half & half for the light cream and for the cheese I substituted 1 C mozzarella and 1 C shredded parmesan for the 1 1/4 C Gruyere. This makes it a bit firmer and more like a quiche. I also added a can of baby shrimp. I crave this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
By the way...Gruyere is a type of Swiss cheese. Any other will not taste as good in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was FANTASTIC! A bit rich to eat as a main course, but as a side...amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this last month for a brunch and today I'm making it because I haven't been able to keep my mind off of it! Last time I used frozen leeks and all Gruyere cheese but today I used 4 fresh leeks and a Swiss/Gruyere shredded blend from Trader Joes. I also added garlic and fresh nutmeg both times (a definite must when you have any creamy quiche) and I blind baked the crust for about 15 minutes, another MUST when you make ANY quiche...who likes soggy crust? This is a very rich and delicious quiche and I love the fact that there are no eggs in it. Serving it for lunch with a salad and Bloody Mary today...can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States