French Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This was excellent!! I only had 1 large leek, so I used it and a red onion. I also used half and half and 2%colby /monteray jack cheese, because I didn't have gruyere. It was fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Delicious. Every time I make it, I add something new. This time I sauteed a finely diced zuchinni and mushrooms with the leeks and added a pinch of nutmeg, too. I also prebaked the pie shell for 10 minutes so it wouldn't be soggy. Next time, I'm trying the bacon, too. It's easy and a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Fantastic! I added 3 bitten eggs and some Parmesan cheese. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
We love this recipe - it is one of the top 10 that my boyfriend repeatedly asks me to make. I have made it simply as stated, or fixed it up by adding mushrooms, extra onions, bacon, potatoes, different cheeses, etc. It is fabulous as a side, or a main course for a meatless dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Muy delicioso! I wasn't sure about no eggs either, so I slipped one in the mixture. I subbed the light cream (couldn't find it anyway) with fat-free evap milk, and it worked fine. The only thing wrong with this recipe was that it only made one dainty little civilized pie. Easy enough to double, and maybe try the Gruyere or Swiss mixed with another similar cheese. Thanks for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This was pretty good as a side dish but I wouldn't suggest using it for a main dish. There isn't much to it. I used plain yoghurt instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Excellent! This would make a great brunch dish, but it is great as a light supper with a salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Awesome recipe, even though this recipe has great reviews I was skeptical about it. But it was wonderful. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding bacon and carmelizing the leaks. After tasting it we drizzled a little good balsamic over too which put it over the edge for breakfast this morning we are going to fry an egg to put over top.. All delicious. Great basic recipe that you can adjust to your personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Excellent recipe- tasty and easy. Added garlic and bacon as recommended and everyone loved it. Great for a summer dinner or sunday brunch. Thank you. Buy the good cheese - makes all the dif !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sir_Angus
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
The gruyere is crazy expensive but well worth it! This is such a decadently delicious pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sir_Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States