French Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Phenomenal. This was one of the best recipes I have ever gotten from this site and if you saw my recipe box, that is saying something. I mde two pies, one as is and it was just fabulous. (Well, not quite as is. I used Jarlsberg instead of Gruyere because it was about 1/3 the price). I made two because I don't want to be THAT person who says how I changed everything, but I did make a different version that I also liked a lot. I fried a few pieces of bacon, removed them and softened the leeks in the bacon drippings, then crumbled the bacon back in with the cheese and cream. I did a layer of this mixture, then a layer of ripe sliced tomato, then covered it with the remainder of the cheese and cream mixture. Baked the same way. Also extremely delicious. So, this recipe is GREAT as is, but can also be modified if desired! Which makes it a 5-star recipe to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSFABIAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Quick note to a number of the reviewers of this recipe - gruyere IS Swiss cheese. What you are all referring to as Swiss cheese is actually called Emmenthal or Emmenthaler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
We loved this! I was so worried about it coming out right (I've never made a cheese pie before) with no egg...? I followed the directions exactly and it came out beautifully! Will be making it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I found this recipe after a trip to Alsace, where they serve their famous "tartes flambées". This is very close in taste if you sautée the vegetables in bacon instead of butter. I used 3 slices of chopped bacon and the result was heavenly. I think it would be a bit lacking in taste without the bacon... A bit of ham might work too but then butter would be required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Fantastic. We really enjoyed this. I made just as stated and I don't think you could make it better by making changes. Cooking time was spot on too. Will definitely make again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Cheese suggestion: I agree--easy and delicious. My son doesn't like Swiss cheese, so I thought he wouldn't like the Gruyere. (It was also $16/lb.) I used Fontina instead. I was afraid that even it was a bit strong, but the flavors blended very nicely and there were no leftovers. A really mild cheese blended with some Parmesean would also work. For my taste, I think the original recipe with the Gruyere would be best, but if you also have picky eaters you can adjust. Changed my ranking to 3 stars as I liked it but my husband emphasized when I made it again that he REALLY didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Excellent recipe- tasty and easy. Added garlic and bacon as recommended and everyone loved it. Great for a summer dinner or sunday brunch. Thank you. Buy the good cheese - makes all the dif !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Excellent recipe! I'm a big fan of quiche, so I was very dubious that this recipe could work with no eggs. But I gave it a try and was impressed! I used Swiss cheese, since that's what I had on hand. It reheats well - my coworkers were jealous as it wafted through the office! Yum-yum, will definitely be a keeper!! Thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Muy delicioso! I wasn't sure about no eggs either, so I slipped one in the mixture. I subbed the light cream (couldn't find it anyway) with fat-free evap milk, and it worked fine. The only thing wrong with this recipe was that it only made one dainty little civilized pie. Easy enough to double, and maybe try the Gruyere or Swiss mixed with another similar cheese. Thanks for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I thought this was very tasty! Next time I'm going to double the ingredients, though - I found it to be very thin and only filled about half of the 9-inch pie dish. I added three slices of crumbled thick bacon - didn't add any extra salt because the bacon is so salty...and I used swiss cheese rather than gruyere...will definitely make this again - lovely for a brunch or spring lunch....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nico's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States