French Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Yum! The only thing I did different was using 2 Tbls of butter instead of 2 tsp to saute the leeks. Very easy to make. Although the cheese is a bit pricey, it's definitely worth it considering all other ingredients are inexpensive. I might try adding pancetta next time. This would be great served with a pear/gorgonzola/walnut salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
very tasty! My boyfriend, who is very picky on quality, wolfed down 3/4 of the pie! I was luck to get the last quarter! Only changes I made: I got pre-made dough from a local bakery, but they only had 4" pies so I got two. and i mixed in some swiss cheese. Definitely will make this again. Can't wait to bake the frozen one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This pie was really wonderful! And so easy to make -- even after a long day at work! And my husband loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Everyone liked this, even my picky eater. The Gruyere is a nice complement to the leek flavor. I made it just as written, although mine was done after about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
amazing. Easy. Add bacon for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-LITE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Cheese suggestion: I agree--easy and delicious. My son doesn't like Swiss cheese, so I thought he wouldn't like the Gruyere. (It was also $16/lb.) I used Fontina instead. I was afraid that even it was a bit strong, but the flavors blended very nicely and there were no leftovers. A really mild cheese blended with some Parmesean would also work. For my taste, I think the original recipe with the Gruyere would be best, but if you also have picky eaters you can adjust. Changed my ranking to 3 stars as I liked it but my husband emphasized when I made it again that he REALLY didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Phenomenal. This was one of the best recipes I have ever gotten from this site and if you saw my recipe box, that is saying something. I mde two pies, one as is and it was just fabulous. (Well, not quite as is. I used Jarlsberg instead of Gruyere because it was about 1/3 the price). I made two because I don't want to be THAT person who says how I changed everything, but I did make a different version that I also liked a lot. I fried a few pieces of bacon, removed them and softened the leeks in the bacon drippings, then crumbled the bacon back in with the cheese and cream. I did a layer of this mixture, then a layer of ripe sliced tomato, then covered it with the remainder of the cheese and cream mixture. Baked the same way. Also extremely delicious. So, this recipe is GREAT as is, but can also be modified if desired! Which makes it a 5-star recipe to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSFABIAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is such a great recipe. The pie has a delicate flavor that is really well balanced. As an added plus, to my husband and me, it tasted like the holidays. I've made it a few times and it's flawless every time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Wow, easy and delicious! Everything was perfect: flavor was perfectly balanced, great texture, cooking time was exactly right. I love the subtle, cheesy flavor with the onion aroma of the leeks. It looked beautiful as well, great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Woolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
We loved this! I was so worried about it coming out right (I've never made a cheese pie before) with no egg...? I followed the directions exactly and it came out beautifully! Will be making it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States