French Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was soooooo easy and so scrumptious! I plan on bringing this to potlucks, dinner parties and holidays! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I found three leeks to be too many. I was excited to make this dish because it has many raving reviews, but I think I would be more satisfied with a nice quiche instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpmiddendorf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I would actually have rated 4 1/2 stars if I could. The flavor is wonderful. The filling isn't enough for a 9" deep dish shell. I allowed this to sit for almost an hour before serving and there was liquid in the bottom, making the crust soggy. If I make it again I'll do it well ahaead of time so I can refrigerate it for a few hours, cut it and nuke the slices. I subbed Jarlsburg due to the cost of Gruyere and I added about 1/2 cup more on top before baking. Thanks dor a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
UNBELIEVABLY delicious! I also fried up 3 strips of bacon, set them aside and sauteed the leeks in the fat (omitted butter), and I also added in some minced garlic at the end of the sauteing of the leeks. Beautiful dish - will make again and again! This also pairs wonderfully with the "Leek and Mushroom Soup" also on this site, especially if you have a lot of leeks to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Richlands, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This was amazing! I am trying to follow a South Beach diet, so I made a few changes. I made my own pie crust and used whole wheat flour. I had leftover shallots and mushrooms so I added those to the saute pan with the leeks. I used fat free half and half instead of the light cream, and 1/2 reduced fat swiss, 1/2 Gruyere. It turned out so well - delicious, beautiful and healthy served with a big green salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I think it's more "leeky" than it is "quichey", but I love leeks and I think that makes it taste healthier. I use boxed Krusteaz Pie Crust mix because it tastes great and is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was a big hit with the adults! I didn't have the Gruyere cheese so I substituted with shredded Swiss and also added about a 1/4 cup of shredded Parmesan cheese. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4pinksand1blue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very good &easy to make - followed instructions exactly first time came out really great adjusted cooking time as we prefer crust quite crisp and added mushrooms the next time still a hit Thanks very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DALIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Terrific taste, but need more cooking time and at least 30-40 minutes cooling time, perhaps longer, to set up. It's super rich, I would suggest serving with a light salad or fruit. Thanks for a very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I used the Easy Pie Crust recipe found on this site. I subsituted whole milk for the cream and added sliced crimini mushrooms because it sounded irresistible. My husband, who absolutely hates mushrooms, bravely tried a bite and ended up having seconds. It was so good all I could do was moan as I plowed through half the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States