French Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
As a leek lover, this recipe is perfection on the taste buds - you don't have to change a thing! Thank you for posting! (I made this with the "Butter Flaky Pie Crust" posted by Dana).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is a delightfully simple dish with a delicate, classy flavor. For "light cream" I used half heavy cream, half 2% milk and whisked in ~2 tbsp flour based on previous suggestions. The texture is perfect and flavor divine. The only thing i'll change next time use of a homemade pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Quick note to a number of the reviewers of this recipe - gruyere IS Swiss cheese. What you are all referring to as Swiss cheese is actually called Emmenthal or Emmenthaler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Divine! I followed the recipe exactly (gruyere) and it turned out just lovely. This is simple to make, looks beautiful and holds its shape nicely when cut. An absolutely perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This had a great flavor, taste to it. We didn't know what 'light' cream was (didn't see it labeled in our store) and had to buy heavy cream. Make sure it's light, with the heavy cream, it didn't bind and was runny. Giving it a 5 because it was my mistake, but very good dish. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minneapolis Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I was unexpectedly hosting a vegetarian friend for dinner and I feel bad because she always gets the short end of the stick when dining with her carnivore friends, so I was planning to make sure she had plenty of choices. Then circumstances occurred where instead of a week to plan and shop, I had just a few hours, so I hit allrecipes in a panic. I chose this because it only required a few ingredients, was easy to throw together, and had good reviews. I was a little skeptical---"custard" and there were no eggs. I thought maybe an ingredient had gotten left out, until someone mentioned in a review there were really no eggs. Anyway, I whipped this bad boy up and boy, did it go over big. It was so easy---and I was running crazy trying to shop and clean and cook with only a few hours notice. And my guests went nuts for it---we had to force the meat-eaters back so Veggie Girl could have a second helping. I feel confident if I had made two tarts, eight people could easily have demolished them. I can't wait to make again! The only changes I made were I used swiss---that's what I had on hand!---and after reading the reviews, I did add about 1 1/2 T of Wondra flour, and my pie was nice and firm and tight and not a bit runny. Lovely, lovely, lovely! Thanks, Sunny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I LOVED this recipe! It was really quite easy. As another reviewer said, I used the simple pie crust recipe that can be found on this site. I also used swiss instead of Gruyere cheese and it was fabulous. Will be taking this to a girlfriend's gathering coming up soon and I know it will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Wonderful. So easy to make and such gorgeous taste. I've made it a number of times and its always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This is an AWESOME dish. Didn't have any cream so I substituted 1/2c cottage cheese and 1/2c sour cream, beaten together well, for the cup of light cream. Still great and maybe was healthier(?). Wonderful balance - leeks are pungent, cottage cheese, sour cream mixture is smooth, and the cheese is both. Also had a bunch of onions I had to do something with, so I made a version with 3 medium size onions and a big sprinkle of dried parsley. Very good and worth doing as well, but leeks are definitely the best. Also used just run-of-the-mill supermarket Swiss, so the recipe does not have to be overly expensive. I would make it far enough in advance to give it a longer cooling period, as after only 10 minutes it was still runny. Reheats well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This was really very easy to make, and the results were absolutely delicious! Since some of the prior reviews indicated that this could have used more filling, I used 4 leeks which I sauteed in about a tablespoon of bacon fat. I didn't have enough time to cook bacon to add to the pie, but I'm definitely doing that next time-- that would turn this into a 10-star dish! I kept the amounts of the other ingredients the same, and added a dash each of thyme and garlic powder. I kept back about 1/3 cup of the cheese and sprinkled it on top. This was nicely browned by the 30 minute mark and smelled like heaven... I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States