French Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
So easy and so good. Definately make your own crust. I did what others did- make extra dough when making holiday pies and store in the freezer. Gruyere is expensive but a 4 ounce package easily grates to the required amount (and a little more).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
One of our favorite recipes from Allrecipes. Whenever I make pie crust for dessert pies, I will make extra so I can fit this dish into our menu plan. It is simple, rich, and delicious. My husband loves it. Since it's so decadent, we pair it with a simple salad with a tart vinaigrette dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Flavor was great, but it didn't set firmly like a quiche. I'm hoping refrigerating the leftovers overnight may firm it up. I think next time I'll add eggs to make it firm. Other than the soupy texture, it had outstanding flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NTexas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This was excellent!! I only had 1 large leek, so I used it and a red onion. I also used half and half and 2%colby /monteray jack cheese, because I didn't have gruyere. It was fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Delicious. Every time I make it, I add something new. This time I sauteed a finely diced zuchinni and mushrooms with the leeks and added a pinch of nutmeg, too. I also prebaked the pie shell for 10 minutes so it wouldn't be soggy. Next time, I'm trying the bacon, too. It's easy and a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Fantastic! I added 3 bitten eggs and some Parmesan cheese. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
We love this recipe - it is one of the top 10 that my boyfriend repeatedly asks me to make. I have made it simply as stated, or fixed it up by adding mushrooms, extra onions, bacon, potatoes, different cheeses, etc. It is fabulous as a side, or a main course for a meatless dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Muy delicioso! I wasn't sure about no eggs either, so I slipped one in the mixture. I subbed the light cream (couldn't find it anyway) with fat-free evap milk, and it worked fine. The only thing wrong with this recipe was that it only made one dainty little civilized pie. Easy enough to double, and maybe try the Gruyere or Swiss mixed with another similar cheese. Thanks for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This was pretty good as a side dish but I wouldn't suggest using it for a main dish. There isn't much to it. I used plain yoghurt instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Excellent! This would make a great brunch dish, but it is great as a light supper with a salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States