French Leek Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
First time I substituted with jarsburg Swiss (sp?) and it was runny. This time I followed exactly and it was perfect.... But I added bacon! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times - all fantastic. After going back and reading other reviews, I decided to use regular Swiss cheese to save $. Big mistake! The flavor is soooo much richer with the Gruyere cheese. Stick to the original recipe and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Very tasty, and incredibly easy. We loved it so much I made it again the next day. I added bacon and garlic to the second pie, and it was even better! I used 2 leeks, 3 wouldn't fit into the crust. This would be easy to customize with the addition of kale, chicken etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by limey
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Amazing! I was given a huge leek that was about the size of 3 normal leeks, so I used that and otherwise followed the recipe. It took significantly longer to set in my oven, but that may have been my oven, who knows. What I do know, is that when it did set, it was delicious! I will definitely be making this again and playing with my personal oven settings. Such an easy recipe and a real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Followed exactly and mine was also really wet even after 40min of baking and refrigerated. Very tasty but will add an egg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcelle Saurman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious! Very quick & easy to make. I used mozzarella cheese because I didn't have any gruyere, and also added about half a cup of sliced mushrooms. I think it might also be good with chicken or bacon added. We will definitely have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made this recipe 2 weeks ago, and my kids liked it so much, they asked me to make it again tonight. I did sub baby swiss for the Gruyere cheese, but that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micheleberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
A friend gave me some leeks from her garden so decided to give this recipe a try. Really enjoyed the result. The whole thing took me almost two hours start to finish - took more than 10 minutes just to clean and chop the leeks. Then again, I am quite the newbie in the kitchen. Used Swiss cheese because that's what was available and used Half & Half instead of "Light Cream" because I could not find that. Very rich dish. I should have discarded some of the tougher leek parts, but this was my first time cooking with leeks. Now I know. I think stewed apples would go with this nicely. Already had the leeks; the rest of the ingredients cost about $6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This was ridiculously good, especially with the home made pie crust from this site, it's a wonder I didn't eat the whole thing! I added bacon and garlic but I'm sure it would be wonderful without both of those. Only had Parmesan on hand but I'm excited to try it with the Gruyere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was perfection. Easy and so, SO good. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States