French Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Mmmmm...so tasty! The only thing that disappointed me was the way it toasts. It just sorta...warmed, and never really got crusty and crunchy. I think thats because of the amount of butter used in the herb filling. I'm not sure if I'll make it again ('cause there are sooo many great recipes here, and I don't want to commit myself to just one!) but if I do I will most definately cut down the butter by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This was the second ever bread I made and I thought it turned out perfectly, deliciously. It practically made itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanesia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
First of all these were very good and I will be making it again. You could fill it with anything I was even thinking if you added 2 more tablespoons of sugar to the dough you could add fruit or other sweet things to it. But it is important to remember that this is not a true french bread (crusty with soft middle). I do have some advice though. Some of the reviews said they had trouble getting the dough to rise and I figured out that a tablespoon of yeast is two of the packets, I had no trouble with the dough rising. I also used olive oil in the dough I don't like to use to much butter and I do like the flavor of olive oil. I doubled the onion and the garlic and the butter in the onion mixture. I also added parm cheese. I made two loaves. Very good and not that had to make. Other advice was it was very easy to make the milk mixture to hot that would cause the bread not to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Wow, this was soooo good. I served it with smothered filet mignon and garlic mashed potatoes from this site and my husband said it was better than a 5 star restaurant! A +++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This is a lovely bread, although it is not a 'french bread' in the literal sense. Classic french has no oil, only water, flour, yeast, and salt. But this was a wonderful way to create a lovely herbed bread that presents well. Read the reviews and saw the problems with the bread not staying together when rolled so I did not add chopped onions but instead added 3 tsp. dehydrated onions to my milk, butter mixture and added to the dough itself. I then proceeded to make the herb paste without the onion but with everything else. This rose nicely and is pretty much spot on with the amt. of flour. A lovely texture and not too sweet, not too salty but just right. I could taste the onion in the bread so did not miss out on the onion flavor. Divided this into two loaves and brushed the tops with eggwash and sprinkled sesame seeds. Lovely to go with "Restuarant style rotisserie chicken" with the herbed theme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I thought this was delicious. I doubled the onion and garlic in the filling. My only problem was that when I cut it, I didn't get solid slices. The slices "unwound" and I got bread spirals. I think that cutting it while it was still warm may have caused this? Who knows. Tasted great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Absolutely AWESOME French bread! I have made it exactly as the recipe appears, and also without the filling and shaped the dough into breadsticks (spread butter and garlic salt on tops). FABULOUS! This one is definitely a keeper! My family LOVES it! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Excellent! It's tastey and beautiful to behold. If you want more flavor, add more onions and garlic. I will next time. It rose beautifully for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This was okay--but all the work of homemade bread should yield something better than just okay. I hoped the savory thread would just blend into the bread, instead it separated like a roll where the herbs were spread. It also didn't rise as much as a normal loaf, and was sort of dense. More like a dinner roll than a nice light loaf of bread. I'll stick to kneading herbs into bread or ribbons with less fat so they blend into the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States