French Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I will never buy french bread from the store again!! I used 2 c all-purpose,1 c whole wheat, and 1/2 c bread flour. I also substituted butter for margarine. It came out unbelievably soft and stayed that way for three days. The buttery ribbon adds so much flavor. I used it to make sandwiches and they were absolutely divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Good bread. I had the problem of it unrolling while slicing too. I skipped the chopped onion and subbed powdered onion in it's place...for the kids' sake. A little dense, but tasty none the less. I will take the advise of all the reviewers(thanks for your reviews) and make this bread again....especially using italian seasoning and olive oil. Thanks for the post Aronna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Excellence! ~sheer delish! We made this in our bread machine & before that honking lot of dough got big enough to pour out onto our counter we took it out & divided it, rolled the dough on a floured surface & rolled it up, tucking in the ends. Covered wit plastic wrap on a large cookie sheet, let rise & then, baked two HUGE loaves & brought to a family Italian dinner & it was inhaled! Only a wee tad of butter needed, maybe even none! Soft, chewy, and so aromatic & beautiful. KEEP THIS IN THE RECIPE BOX!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
A nice bread recipe. I used powdered onion instead of fresh and didn't have any problems with the bread unrolling. Also, I subbed half the flour with whole wheat and used olive oil instead of butter. Still, a nice bread for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This recipe is fabulous one for bread. It is easy and *very* delicious. An automatic hit in my family, it is now frequently requested, and I am always happy to bake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esperanza274

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
It was delicious! I made it for supper and it was all eaten in less than a half hour! and my cousins who hate onions did nt even notice that there was any ! (I diced the onions into tiny pieces)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This bread has way too much onion in it. The dough by itself was okay, but when you added the filling, it tasted like very strong onion rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This bread is excellent!!!! Easy enough to prepare. Very soft and tasty. Definately a family favorite here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Really good. It was surprisingly simple to make but didn't look it. Wouldn't change a thing. Many thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I have to admit - when I made this bread I was a skeptic, one tablespoon of yeast for one loaf of bread seemed like a lot to me and I thought the end result would be a very yeasty tasting bread; boy was I wrong! This bread was delicious! The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is because I feel it needs more of the onion garlic filling, so next time I think I will increase it by 50% (using 3/4 cup onion and 2 cloves of garlic). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States