French Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made it exactly as directed and it turned out wonderfully. I sometimes have trouble shaping loaves but this looked just right! Personally I wondered about adding cheese or increasing the filling after reading others' reviews, but I didn't think it was needed as the filling is pleasantly pungent. Like the next reviewer, I did all by hand and used butter. Also it was done at 20 mins. [I also made a plain loaf with no filling and it was good too.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I love this bread and so does my family. It is nice and crusty on the bottom and soft and chewy on the inside and the filling is super flavorful. I did not use a mixer but did everything by hand and used real butter in place of margarine. This would go great with just about anything. A little time consuming but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is great as written, but I've tried it a few times with different spices, added cheese over the filling before rolling up, added garlic to the dough once...you can get very creative with this recipe & it turns out beautiful & yummy every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I don't usually make bread, but!!! I made a spaghetti sauce tonight (you will get that recipe soon...it's almost perfect)! This bread is really great! We loved it. I actually rolled it out kind of funky so I cut it to make a loaf for my son who does not like onions...yahoo!! Will make again with a few of my own ideas..will keep you posted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
i had fun with this recipe...i did follow ingredients exactly but made two loaves...one i stuffed and one i left plain...the plain one rose really nice and the filled one ... well ended up more wide than tall...but i tried a piece of it and it was really good...going to try like others and play with the filling ingredients...thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Excellent! I added a little more onion and garlic and a little Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
The bread itself was delicious and had a great texture. The filling was really great too, but there just wasn't enough of it. I'll definitely double the filling and play around with different flavors (italian seasoning,etc.). I will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This bread is good! The herbs are good too! Smells like my mom's dressing she makes for turkey dinner during the holidays! I added more parsley and some sage as well as savoury. I think I should have left it in the oven for a tad bit longer too because when I cut it down the centre, it was a bit gooey. With banana bread, I'm ok with it because for some reason, it gets better the next day but I'm not so sure about this bread. I've let it sit for a few hours now and the sides came out perfect but the middle is still a bit gooey. I have no real solution for this, however, so that I don't have to throw those bits out, I'm freezing the bread in slices and then when I want to have a couple of pieces for our supper, I'll bake them again as toast, kind of like deluxe garlic bread with no cheese (mm, though cheese sounds good with this!)see how that goes! I was scared to leave it in the oven for much longer, it was turning pretty dark. Though that way be because I used whole wheat flour instead of white. Anyway, I tried a normal piece and it was great! I surprised myself because I don't usually go outside of baking regular loaf bread and do this kind of fancy bread. I've been known to have some disasters! hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Wonderful Bread! A little denser than I expected but it was amazing. I Used butter and italian seasoning to brush the top and when it came out, it tasted just like the breadsticks at Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This bread is excellent. I absolutely loved it. Will make it again and again and again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States