French Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was my first attempt at making bread and it turned out wonderful! I grated the onion on my cheese grater, this worked great, it blended nicely in the butter. I used fresh basil instead of parley because it's what I had in the garden. Mmm, I can't wait to make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This bread was fantastic--easy to do, with great texture and flavor. After reading the other reviews, I was worried that the onion flavor would be too strong, but my husband and I didn't think so at all. He's already requesting I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
What a fantastic and easy bread to make. It was a huge hit with my family, which includes 3 very fussy little boys. It does make one very big loaf. Next time I will break it in to two loaves and try making a couple of baguettes. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This bread was pretty good, but I found that it dried out WAY to fast. I did pull it out of the oven too soon because I thought it was done (it wasn't!) and had to put it back in, so it got some funny wrinkles on top of the loaf. The bread also spread out a lot in the oven...it seemed to rise out instead of up. The onion filling was good, and it had great flavor, but there wasn't enough of it. If I make this again, I'll definitely double the amount of filling. I ended up using the leftover dry pieces to make breadcrumbs, which I used to coat chicken pieces. Thanks for sharing the recipe, but I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is one of my favorite bread recipes. Perfect compliment to any pasta dish. For those who think that the onion is too strong, make sure that you mince the onion a small as possible. I think this helps. My husband doesn't like onion, and he will eat this bread. I have made it with less onion and added garlic to it as well. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Loved it but I need some advice - when I cut the bread, it basically came unraveled in the middle. Maybe I needed to roll up tighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ossining, New York, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Beautiful dough consistency. This bread works with or without the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I love this recipe! The texture is amazing, the spices are just right and the flavor is always a winner. Everybody that I have served this to asks what it is and "Can I have the recipe." Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Really delicious. One of the tastiest breads I've had. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was yummy stuff. By way of yeast breads this dough was a dreamboat to work with! I found it was easiest to spread the filling by just using one hand and spreading it all over, lol. I also brushed with egg wash and salt rather than the butter and parsley. I will be making this one again for a different type of french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States