French Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Good flavor bread. Unfortunately I had difficulty getting it to rise, not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I loved this recipe. I made lasanga for dinner and invited some people over and they loved the bread as well. I tweaked the recipe a little. I didn't quite add 1/2 cup of onion, and I used 2 cloves of garlic instead of one to give it some added garlic flavor. I also added some rosemary garlic seasonings that I had on hand. I used 4 T. of butter instead of 2 T. because it didn't spread over the entire rolled out dough. I also added some parmesan cheese. It was gone in 1 day! Next time I will try adding mozzarella cheese! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This bread had way too much onion and garlic for my taste. Although I thought the flavor was much too strong, it was still a good flavor. Also, I got the not-so-bright idea of trying to make individual rolls out of it *after* I'd already rolled it up like a jelly roll. Bad move - it didn't rise and just generally turned out bad. Should have left it in a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Very Tasty Bread! I substitute 1/2 TBS white distilled vinegar and ½ TBS Balsamic Vinegar for 1TBS vinegar. I like to use this bread recipe to make Stromboli. Really anything can go in the middle. It is a very impressive bread with very little work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
a nice loaf of bread with a lovely flavor, though not a french bread. It didn't have the airy yet crusty quality. More like a white bread with flavorful ribbons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This is just about the best bread I've ever made. The flavor of the onion/garlic mix permiate the loaf in a wonderful way. A must make for any bread lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This bread is the best. My kids beg me to make this when I am cooking pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Excellent! I planned on serving it with dinner today, but we ended up slicing it up and dipping it in pizza sauce for lunch! I tried this a second time, and used pepperoni and mozzarella instead of the onion spread. I've been asked to make it again and again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Wow! This bread is unbelievably great. And the smell while cooking--heavenly! It calls for 1 tablespoon of yeast, and because I buy my yeast in little packets and not jars, I use two packets and it comes out perfect! One tip, watch the expiration date on yeast--if it's old it may not rise, then it won't bake. Also, after the dough has risen, if something jars or bumps it and it falls, it will not rise again & then it won't bake. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
This is the best french bread I have ever eaten! I ended up making it into smaller loaves so we could use it for French dip sandwiches. I also didn't have crusty bread, but I maybe just needed to cook it longer to make it crusty, I love soft bread though so it was fine with me. It had the best taste and texture. I left out the seasonings and substituted soy milk for the regular milk and olive oil instead of butter because my daughter has a dairy intolerance and it was awesome! Everyone who ate them didn't even notice the substitutions and they don't touch soy milk. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States