French Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Wow, this was SO DELICIOUS! Read all the reviews and gave it a shot (new to bread baking) and absolutely loved it. Great texture, dense and moist but great for soaking up sauce! Made this as a side to scampi and am already thinking about all the ways you could flavor this bread. Would be great with a soup or as part of a gourmet French cheese.... YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This bread is delicious. I made two loaves and froze one for dinner another night. Next time though, I want to put the herbs in the dough rather than roll them in it. I used another review's tip and placed a small pan of water in the oven. I enjoyed how that made the crust turn out. Recipe was very easy and will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I've begun a new "hand made" bread phase in my life...this is a good, simple recipe. I didn't use the herb filling but I'm sure that will be fantastic next time I make this. I appreciate everyone's notes about making this by hand--my bread machine is packed up (somewhere!) after moving. I proofed and cooked this in a round 2 qt pyrex bowl and it was an awesome go with for spaghetti. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
The flavor of this is great - I used about 1/4c onion, 3 squeezed garlic, butter flavored Crisco in place of margarine (all I had on hand)the salt & 1t dried Italian seasoning. I mixed it in the bread machine and the rise was perfect. 2nd rise, not so much. I made 2 loaves and each is only the height of a baguette - I was hoping for height like a regular French loaf. No matter - I WILL be making this again & trying to work out the rising. (I'm at high altitude & have lots of issues making bread here - just learning...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This recipe is excellent. We loved the bread. The parsley (use fresh) made for an interestng a fresh flavor. It needed about 22 minutes cook time for me. 30 minutes would make it pretty crispy/burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was tasty; however, it wasn't exactly what I was expecting. The bread itself was denser than I was expecting and the filling made it taste more like a garlic bread, than an herb bread. I might make it again, but I'm also going to keep looking for a different herbed bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I used my kitchen aid (makes bread so much easier) After adding the cup & 1/2 of flour I switched to my dough hook and let the machine do the kneading. I see what others mean by the onions, I read that so I didn't add that much and I used a shallot and green onion but it still had that predominent onion flavor. Next time I'll use only a shallot and I think I may add sliced stuffed green olives. With the herb mixture I needs the total time in the oven otherwise it's liable to be doughy, also next time I'll spritz the oven w/water so the crust is "crustier". I will make again and just experiment with flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is the first recipe for French bread that has really come out well for me. It's crusty and delicious! I modified the filling a little, though. I used chopped green onions instead of regular onions, I upped the garlic to about a tablespoon, and I added onion and garlic powder as well as Italian seasoning mix. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This is an amazing bread. I served it for dinner with home made pasta sauce and spaghetti and my husband, who is Italian, LOVED it. He only asked that I double the amount of onions next time. I have since made it three times with extra onions and I have passed the recipe along to our families, who also love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The filling was nice, but it needed a LOT more garlic. The texture of the bread itself was nice, but I actually prefer the texture of a different Cinnamon Raisin bread on Allrecipes.com. I will use the filling (with more garlic) and the other recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States