French Ham Cheese and Egg Fondue Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I prepared this recipe for my large family at Easter brunch. I changed it just a little bit by adding pancetta in addtion to the ham. My picky brother who wont eat anything, eventually gave it a try, he then went back for seconds! Everyone loved it and it's simple to prepare. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this for Easter Brunch. Making this ahead of time makes it easy to spend time with the family and not in the kitchen. Even the "picky" eaters loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was a very good recipe, although it was a bit salty. I was worried about the large amount of ham called for, especially since I was feeding a group who is trying to watch their salt intake. I found a turkey ham product that had half the sodium but the dish was still salty, maybe because of the cheese. It was extremely tasty and lighter than expected. Would make again (will try a reduced-sodium cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Wow, I cut come corners (did not do layers, added parm to top of casserole) and I am very impressed! I added cayenne to the flour mixture. Really fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe went over well at a bridal shower brunch. I'm not usually sensitive to salt, but I found this to be a bit salty. I did not have enough cheddar this time, so I added in a little fontina to the cheddar mix...That was a great substitute since fontina melts so well. Next time, I will make sure to use low-sodium ham. I will also add a vegetable like spinach, onion, or mushrooms. It's a keeper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this the night before Christmas for Christmas brunch, and I used low-sodium ham. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I downloaded this recipe with intentions of having it for Xmas breakfast ...oops, it didn't happen. But I had to use the ham I bought or chuck it; glad I used it!! Even my picky 12 year old daughter gobbled it up. You can use slightly less ham to make it less salty. You don't have to use the hot pepper sauce if you have kids eating. It's loaded with flavour +++ with no weird ingredients that might make kids turn their noses up. Oh, and you DON'T have to worry about letting it sit AT ALL ...that part of the recipe is only for Xmas Eve chefs who want an easy meal the next day. YUMMMMMMM ...this will be on the table next Xmas breakfast. SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPADDON
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Tastey, but I think I would prefer more bread, less milk to egg ratio. Used multigran bread (dried in oven instead of day old), 1 c black forest sliced deli ham (chopped), 1 c grated instead of cubed cheddar. Too much butter for my liking. I think the serving size is off, I think it yields 4. Instead of adjusting this recipe next time, will probably try "Egg-ceptional Egg Bake" or "Bake Brunch Omelet"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this casserole for Christmas morning and everyone loved it so much I'm making it again for Easter. I used half and half instead of milk and added onion. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is a good recipe. I substitute herb seasoned stuffing mix cubes for the French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States