French Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This is the second year I have made this recipe for the holidays. I used double the rum. I used golden raisins and currants. I used a mixture of lemon and orange peels. After baking I dunked the cakes in rum and let them soak some up. Then gave them time to mellow. Slices best when cold. My grandmother was French, and this recipe is close to what she made, according to my mother. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I made this last year and this year also. It is easy, and wonderful. I do make it in a less-fat manor -- I pour the rum over the fruit while I mix up the other ingredients. And, I substitute low fat eggnog for the cream, use EggBeaters instead of Eggs, and use Smart Balance instead of butter (which requires another 3 tbs of unsweetened applesauce to keep the moistness..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Being a beginner at baking I found this recipe simple and fool proof! I have made it three times now - two were for xmas presents and both people have requested another. I made a few changes to make a dent in the fat content as follows: used half-fat butter and instead of light cream I used virtually no-fat yoghurt. Also used double the rum. If possible keep it wrapped for a few days and each day drizzle the top with a little more rum. The result is well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emil A.
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
I made it for Christmas and everyone loved it. Instead of regular raisins I used black currants. Wonderful fruitcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stara Zagora, Stara Zagora, Bulgaria
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Very tasty. It has a different texture than a quick bread - thicker and a little coarse. Doesn't really need a topping but might be especially good w/ homemade orange butter. I replaced RUM with more honey and cream. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YellowBeetleSB
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Great, super-simple recipe! I used sultana and thompson raisens as well as a whole bunch of candied fruit. This cake was chalk-jam full of fruit and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was a good start. I liked the texture and the mild flavor from the rum, but missed the spices used in more traditional fruit cakes. I will definitly be using this recipe again, I will just add some spices to help with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Really good recipe. I did make a few alterations out of necessity. I substituted white rum for dark rum and milk for light cream. I doubled the rum and put 3 tbsps of milk. I'm not sure but I don't think 1 teaspoon of vanilla is necessary. And i baked them as muffins for a difference.I loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
taste great and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States