French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Soaking the potatoes in water- sugered or otherwise removes some of the starch which is why they get crispy- less gummy starch. The twice fry method helps also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
White Vinegar works like the sugar does, it pulls out the carbs so they can get crispy. Put a couple capfulls in the water, enough to just smell it, and you won't taste it after you fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Another trick for draining is to use a cooling rack over paper towel or cookie sheet. I do this anytime I deep fry! It really works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I dissolved the sugar in the water, and then put a few ice cubes in with the potatoes, as per others' reviews. I let them soak in the fridge for a few hours before first blanching them in oil, and then doing a fry. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
These were great! Much different tasting than our normal potatoes in the deep fryer method w/salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
First of all, the fries turned out great. Here are a few changes I made: -I peeled, cut and soaked 15 potatoes (our whole family LOVES fries.) -I fried them 2 times. -I kept them warm in a warm oven while fixing the rest of supper. -not ALL of them were crispy, but they were all nicely browned & none were soggy. (This is the way the family likes them. : ) ) -And I plan to reuse the oil tonight to fry breaded fish! (Good recipe & no waste!) Thank you for such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Hmmm. Ended up a bit soggy - other french fry recipes on this site seemed to work for me a little better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The sugar really does make all the difference! You do need to fry twice though. About 2 or 3 min the first time and let them cool. Then fry them again till golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Really good! My family liked these better than the frozen type. I took some other reviewers suggestions and fried 2 min. in 375 oil; allowed to cool for about 10 min. then put back in the fyer for an additional 5+ min. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I tried these last night.. great recipe! I soaked them for about an hour. Drained well, then layed them out on a towel while the oil heated (used Canola oil). I blanch fried them and it worked perfectly! Light, crispy fries. I didn't get an overly sweet taste.. just clean potato taste came through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenLotus77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States