French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The trick to crispy and less greasy French fries are to cook them twice as stated by others. I then dry the fries on paper towels over newspapers or paper bags...they absorb the grease better & fries are nice & crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These are awesome! The only thing we did differently was to double fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Soaking the potatoes in water- sugered or otherwise removes some of the starch which is why they get crispy- less gummy starch. The twice fry method helps also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
White Vinegar works like the sugar does, it pulls out the carbs so they can get crispy. Put a couple capfulls in the water, enough to just smell it, and you won't taste it after you fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Another trick for draining is to use a cooling rack over paper towel or cookie sheet. I do this anytime I deep fry! It really works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I dissolved the sugar in the water, and then put a few ice cubes in with the potatoes, as per others' reviews. I let them soak in the fridge for a few hours before first blanching them in oil, and then doing a fry. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
These were great! Much different tasting than our normal potatoes in the deep fryer method w/salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
First of all, the fries turned out great. Here are a few changes I made: -I peeled, cut and soaked 15 potatoes (our whole family LOVES fries.) -I fried them 2 times. -I kept them warm in a warm oven while fixing the rest of supper. -not ALL of them were crispy, but they were all nicely browned & none were soggy. (This is the way the family likes them. : ) ) -And I plan to reuse the oil tonight to fry breaded fish! (Good recipe & no waste!) Thank you for such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Hmmm. Ended up a bit soggy - other french fry recipes on this site seemed to work for me a little better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The sugar really does make all the difference! You do need to fry twice though. About 2 or 3 min the first time and let them cool. Then fry them again till golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States