French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I really liked the soaking in sugar water. I was able to cut & prepare these way ahead of time. And when fried, they came out crispy & good. I added some seasoning when they came out of fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Terrific. Customize seasoning to preference. I like to add chili powder and seasoning salt for something with a burst. But still great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Great recipe. Only changes I made were cooking canola oil on a skillet medium-high. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
The best fries I've ever had. I've tried making my own in the past on numerous occasions and they've never been as crisp as these. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moetsch
Living In: Poolville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is my go to recipe for homemade french fries. I usually soak in sugar water for at least 1/2 an hour or overnight in refrigerator (water should be clear) and then drain and absorb as much of the water on a reusable drying mat and allow to dry as much as possible. I keep one just for these fries. Always do a long fry (about 6-10 minutes depending on how thick your potatoes are cut- we prefer large wedges) and then just before you're ready to serve, refry till golden brown, about 2 minutes. not sure if it matters whether you do long or short fry first, but the long fry first makes most sense if you're doing fish AND chips. I've done both with great results. Prefrying the potatoes ahead of time helps speed up dinner time. Perfect and delicious every time! I cook for 5 hungry kids so anything I can do ahead helps. To save paper towel, line a large platter with folded newspaper under a of couple of pieces of paper towel. Also, a large cast iron pot for frying is best. You can sustain the temperature of the oil better and fry larger and fewer batches. For those wondering what to do with the leftover oil, let it cool, strain or pour into a covered container and store in the fridge for your next time you need to deep fry something. I find reused oil actually makes the food taste better and it browns the food better as well. I add fresh oil to top up because you will lose some each time you fry and you have to get rid of the brown bits which causes the oil to go rancid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I soaked mine in cold water to remove the starch. Fried twice (first to blanch, then to crisp) and skipped the sugar solution. Also, I only used 1 cup of vegetable oil. They turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is the secret to the perfect french fry. 1)soak overnight in cold water with 2 tablespoons white sugar. 2)Dry with paper towel 3)blanch in vegetable oil with burner on medium until just before they turn brown - then remove to paper towel. 4)Turn burners to high and cook until fries reach your desired brown hue. 5)Enjoy the deliciousness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
real crispy on the outside and tender on the inside.i left the skin on and the wedges with the most skin on them tasted really great! i followed the suggestions of the other reviewers and soaked in cold water for a few minutes before frying. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I wanted this to work so badly. Recipe as written did not give me crunchy french fries. Recipe as modified by others (2 minutes in oil, then remove, then the final 5 minutes or so) also did not give me the french fry of my dreams. Could be my potatoes, could be operator error, not sure. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These were good. somewhat tastier than regular cut potatoes deep fried. i will probably make these again. I made two batches one regular and one with nacho cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States